Growing up or down?


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia
November 24th 2009
Published: November 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

After leaving Mel and the East Coast I flew back to WA and picked up the faithful and much missed Laser. Running short of funds I decided to bust across the Nullabor again, not wise but I didn’t want to spend more time in Perth. I averaged 1000km a day and 3 days later rolled into Ceduna with $70 where the friendly motel owner took pity on the pom and paid me $140 and free accommodation for a days window cleaning. 250 windows later I had enough money to get to Adelaide.
Thanks to Kate’s phone round I moved into the backpackers at Glenelg as one of the housekeepers. For 2 hours a day cleaning bedrooms I could stay for free, very important when you can’t afford the rent! I also found an evening job working in an old rockers bar called Bobby Dazzlers. I met some awesome people at the backpackers and felt really at home, helped a lot by the bar! As is always the way when you stay in a place for work I didn’t see much of the tourist attractions. Did however do the chocolate tour and tasting with the girls and spent a night camping down at Deep Creek which was a messy night on the goon! I get older but not wiser ;-)
I had applied for a couple of proper jobs that would allow me to stay permanently and after a telephone interview I was offered a 2 year contract with the University of Melbourne as a broadacre research assistant out at their Dookie Campus. I accepted and then realised that I would have to settle down for the first time in a long time.
With this in mind I took the scenic coastal route from Adelaide. The coast was stunning, the road had great views of the Younghusband Peninsula as I drove through Coorong National Park. I stopped for a quick look at the big lobster (only in Aus!) before arriving in Rope. I checked into the Lakeside Manor YHA which was a beautiful old converted manor house before heading up to the lookout at Beacon Hill, driving around some of the local bays and watching the sun go down behind the lighthouse.
The next morning I drove onto Beachport for a quick breakie before heading along the Bowman Scenic drive and enjoying the gorgeous coastline. From there I stopped at the Tantanoola caves and Blue Lake at Mt Gambier. I took the coastal road to Portland, stopped at Crags Reserve before hitting the famous great ocean road. Trying to stay warm I stopped at the Bay of Islands, Crofts Bay, Bay of Martrs, the Grotto, London Bridge, the Arch, Port Campbell, Loch Ard Gorge, 12 Apostles and Gibsons Steps. Loch Ard Gorge was just amazing and all the scenery was stunning.
The following morning I continued my journey round the great ocean road stopping at Johanna Beach, Castle Cove, Apollo Bay, Cape Patton lookout, Mt Defiance lookout and taking the short walk up to Sheoak Falls. From there I headed up the highway to Dookie and moved into one of the college houses for the week.
I am settling into Dookie, met some of the locals and moved out from campus to a farm down the road. I have spent a couple of weekends down in Melbourne catching up with some Glenelg escapees and went on roadtrip one weekend to see a bit of Victoria. Got as far as Wilsons Prom which was stunning but forgot about the going home bit at the end of a weekend so didn’t make it back til 10.30pm having trashed the poor old laser!
Work is challenging and so is the thought of staying in one place for 2 years. It is time for me to grow up, even if only temporarily. I still have the laser so I can escape when I feel the need and flying up to Noosa for Xmas - can’t wait to see how big Eva has gotten!



Additional photos below
Photos: 61, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0425s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb