Day 1 - Cairns to Melbourne


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia
November 16th 2009
Published: November 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The AirportThe AirportThe Airport

Oh dear...
Wow. What a day.

Up at 3am, quick coffee with my husband before departure. We stopped off for a quick McCoffee, and then hit the airport.

The charming lady at the Virgin Blue check in counter helped me stop crying briefly, by helping me McRedline! She was going to charge me for my 1 KILO OF EXCESS BAGGAGE. After I had already paid extra for extra kilos. Anyone who has seen me first thing in the morning can testify to the fact that it is not a great idea to push the limits of my patience...!! So after raging about that for a little while, Renea and I headed in to the departures lounge.

We cried. Then laughed. Then cried. Then laughed. Then said 'see you soon' (as opposed to 'goodbye') and I don't know about Renea, but I cried most of the way to Brisvegas. (The girl sitting next to me bought some chocolate off the food trolley, and handed it over without saying a word, just a sympathetic nod...he he he!!)

A quick stop in Brisvegas, then off to the big smoke. Caught a cab out to Gaz's (who apparently has renamed himself 'The OrGAZmatron',
Vee and the boys...Vee and the boys...Vee and the boys...

We're putting the band back together!
bless him). You know that big ferris wheel thing they put up in Melbourne about this time last year? (It looked a little bit like The London Eye). I was thinking I might go for a spin on it before I left...but it is already gone! Apparently it was only open for a few months, and the metal buckled during a heat wave. Wow.

Anyways, Gaz and I picked up Dylan, and we all went and had lunch together. It is so funny...I just realised today how rarely that happens. It was fun, except poor Gaz is a bit sick so we didn't stay too long. It was so good to see them both...I miss them loads. It has only been 11 months since I've seen them, but I was blown away by how 'manly' Dilbags is...he's all grown up!!! They are so awesome...looking forward to spending more time with them (even though they are both really too busy to hang round much!!)

That's it for tonight...we're hanging out and chillaxing.

4 sleeps until Pearl Jam, 6 sleeps to international departure 😊

(Missing everyone like mad already!!)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0797s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb