first thoughts


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia
June 21st 2005
Published: September 18th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Australian Adventures
Star Date Who Knows…somewhere between June 20th and the 22nd.

Perhaps nothing brings people together more fast than a 14 hour flight being crammed as sardines. We’ve all got so much in common already; we all cheapies, who want to see the world on minimal dollars. We’re all slightly insane- some more than others- for wanting, nay seeking, a chance to be holed up in a seat just wider than your shoulders, where you must knock over your neighbor to retrieve something from your carryon. But I digress. This is an exciting time. Janice, Karl and I are on the throes of adventure. I can barely believe it is here. I do not realize I am 1.5 hours from Australia at this point. Surely, it’s all a dream, or I’m just going to California. (To an East Coaster, California is just as far as Europe, or at least in our imaginations anyway.)

I read somewhere that the human psyche can adapt to new things at an astonishing rate, to a point where the ridiculous seems normal. My brain is almost at that point on this aircraft.

My laptop battery is only 1.5 hours lasting. That’s poo. I also realized that nothing is compatible electronically from the US to Australia, so I’ll have to seek out some stuff. Now why can’t we just all use one system? We should comb the world and find the system that works the best and then everyone should use it because I say so.

It was fantastic to …Ooo, the food carte is here and I must attend to my meal.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0296s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1007.6kb