A little detour down under...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia
April 6th 2007
Published: April 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

thru 10 May

On my way to southeast Asia from India, I made a little detour down under. I know, not the most direct route to Thailand, but as Jen and I split up for a month, it made sense to use this opportunity to visit some friends in Australia. It was also great to hit south east Australia before it gets too cold. (On the original itinerary, we were planning on being down here in the dead of winter.)

It's been a great month checking out the beautiful cities of Melbourne (which I learned is actually pronounced 'Melbin') and Sydney. I also made a couple excursions with friends here - Phillip Island and the Great Ocean Road in Victoria.

When I first arrived from India, it was a bit of reverse culture shock. Australia's been absolutely luxurious - the wine is amazing, the food is delicious, the people are so friendly, and everything is immaculately clean. I've been getting a bit spoiled by this wonderful place and my generous friends!

But now I'm getting ready to get back on the road and do some more traveling. I'm off to meet up with Jen again and begin the southeast Asia part of the trip. So hopefully, I'll be a bit better about keepin this travelblog up to date!


Additional photos below
Photos: 37, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Tim, Shan, Zed and meTim, Shan, Zed and me
Tim, Shan, Zed and me

Night out in Melbourne...
KangaroosKangaroos
Kangaroos

Hanging out on Phillip Island, Victoria
NobbiesNobbies
Nobbies

View from Phillip Island, Victoria - if you look close enough you can even see the seals.
Christine and JamieChristine and Jamie
Christine and Jamie

Hanging out on Manly beach, Sydney


Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0234s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb