Up Over Down Under


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia
March 23rd 2007
Published: March 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Alighting in Australia after being in Southeast Asia is, strangely, a minor culture shock. A profusion of blonde after all that black hair. And the tangy accented English over the intercom at Sydney airport: "Ladies and gentlemen, boys and girls, flight -- now boarding..." I need to adjust to this, and the high prices. $3 for a bottle of water, that's what I paid for a big breakfast yesterday! I'm worried this country will be too easy, too much like home, and my senses will glaze over. Passing through airport quarantine makes me think twice. No seeds, no food products, no contact with farm animals in the past 15 days, no soil on your shoes, etc. This country-continent is in defense of its uniqueness. I look down at my own shoes in fear. Not many days ago I was tramping around farmland in Laos and I'm sure the soles of my feet must be caked in mud and in that mud must be the seeds of some invasive plant species. I'm not going to make it through and they are going to incinerate my shoes. But no, they allow me through without a word and now I am truly arrived in Australia. I have one more hop to make, however, from Sydney to Adelaide, in South Australia. Awaiting me at the airport there is Stu and Cassie. As we had promised each other, by nine o'clock we are at a pub cheersing a pint. On Cassie's finger sparkles a diamond engagement ring. Stu proposed to her on the 24th of February and I'm glad I'm able to congratulate them in person.
Over the weekend they take me around to various spots in the city. Stu asks me if I would like to drive because I keep on going to the right side of the car, which is where the steering wheel happens to be in Australia. More of a chip off old Mother England. We make a day trip out to wineries in Maclaren Vale. The low round hills scribing into one another are the colour of dust, the region has been so drought plagued. Then, in rows, cresting the hills, are the stunty vines, bearing out of their low berms of soil in strict cultivation. Olive trees, too, are grown here. With us is Cassie's friend, Bec, and sister, Tanya. We crunch over the gravel yard to the cellar door of Hugh Hamilton. Beginning with the whites, we go down the list. I would not say I have the most discerning palette, but I enjoy the ritual of tasting. Swirl the wine in the glass to blend in the air, put your nose deep into the glass and inhale the bouquet, roll the wine over your tongue. Funny, I used to favour whites, but now I prefer the richer tannic reds, a Shiraz especially, for its spice and perfumey flavours. Though I'm on a budget, I must give my tithe to Bachuss, and so leave with a bottle of Sangiovese, named the Mongrel for its mixture of grapes.
The end of the weekend, I make a side-trip to Melbourne. Stu has lent me a mobile for while I'm here--a local call to anywhere in Australia--so I suddenly am dialed in, reachable, which is of great benefit, though I miss being disconnected to the 'modern' world. In Melbourne, I meet for the first time, Kosta, who is in a trans-continental relationship with my friend Lynn in Calgary. He is gracious enough to put me up for my stay, and the timing is perfect, since he is leaving next week for Canada to see her.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



11th April 2007

Finally - he's alive!
Feel like we haven't heard from you in a while, but no worries eh! I have a feeling you kinda miss the hard life where you've already been? But nothing like a proper working toilet eh mate!!! Love reading of your travels bro. Life is well here, we've had some beautiful spring days and the flowers are in full bloom, Happy Easter!!!
11th April 2007

G'Day Mate
Glad to hear you are still alive...I have travelled the Great Ocean Road myself and I must say it is truly an amazing place! I guess we will see you soon down under! Hopefully you have made it across to Phillip Island to see the penquins! That is pretty cool watching them come on shore... Hope all is well and you are not having too much fun! see you soon Love Alison
13th April 2007

Nice pictures
Hey Brad made it through the first stretch of your journey....Say Hi to Stu for me and congratulations. Have fun stay safe love sarah

Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0216s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb