bam a lam, Oh Black Betty


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia
February 14th 2006
Published: February 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well I've been in Australia for a week now and don't feel like I've done Jack. I took a look around Perth for a couple of days, went biking around Rottnest Island. Then I decided to take a blitzkrieg tour around the Southwest. It was a 3 day bus tour, not really my style but I needed to do something and was getting short on time.
We went down to Margarat River, home to wineries and surfing. Went to the most south west point in OZ and saw where the Indian Ocean and Great Southern Ocean meet. We then went and climbed the 61 meter Gloucester tree. This used to be an old fire lookout. Afterthat was a tree top walk in the Valley of the Giants. These are red tingle trees which remind me in size of the Giant Redwoods and Sequoias of CA. All and all lots of travel and siteseeing in 2+ days.

Tomorrow I leave for Melbourne on the train and then I'm off to Tasmania. I decided last Friday that I just had to Punt most of my Oz trip. I was wasting time in Westerna Australia. Overwhelmed by the amount of stuff to see and do and how long it would all take. I decided that I really wanted to see Tazy and then head to New Zealand early so that I would have the most time there.

Perth is funny and I'm not sure its not really like this in all the big cities of Oz. I've met more Brits than anyone else. Somehow I got myself into the "Spring Break" hostel. Its filled with like 150 people, most from the UK and almost all under the age of 25. They are essentiall on spring break. Many have been here for weeks and haven't seen or done anything. Can't blame them I was in that mode once. The funny part is that many of them are working and have jobs. I would think after getting a job they would want to move into a real flat, but they don't. Oh well who am I.

It really is the party hostel though. It seems that every night they have a bus to a local bar that has backpacker specials. Wednesday everyone goes to Black Betty's. I found myself there last Wednesday until 5AM.... listing to off all things... Hip Hop and a bad live band. That is when I decided I really had to get off on my own and get some exploring done. Okay that was actually the decision Thursday night/afternoon in the middle of my hungover state.

It is very pricey here... a pint of beer costs like $7.5 AUD or about $6 USD.
Oh well such is life.

So here are the pics of the region. It really is a beautiful area when you get out and see it.
Just not the time.

Perth and WA ics


Advertisement



14th February 2006

sheep sheep sheep
Hey Have you met any Wesh people in Perth? if you have, i bet i know them.... BTW are there any people there? i dont see any in your photos...
14th February 2006

Love the pictures
We are glad to hear that you are having a good time!! Love the pics and blog, keep sending them!
21st June 2006

Just today started my tour down south.... in winter... might cut it short if anythings like the ghost town of Bunbury!!!! Need to meet some good people if anyone's heading down south!!!!x

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 25; dbt: 0.038s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb