It's Been a While


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia
February 22nd 2009
Published: February 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

BarracksBarracksBarracks

Me, Emma and Renee at the hostel.
Well, what to say.... sorry for the absence in posting.

Renee and Emma have both left back home as they were nearing the end of their trips. But there is no doubt that I will see them again some time.

I finally found another, more steady job then the roadie work. I am now working at a Thai restaurant as a waitress and also living next door! Its a small restaurant that mainly does takeaways and deliveries, with a few tables for dine in. The boss offered me a place to stay with her and her family next door for much cheaper then a hostel, with food and internet. I am also still working as a roadie but the work is very sporadic so I don't rely on it much but it is fun when I do get the call to go out and work.

As I said in the last post I was going south to Bunbury. The trip was so much fun. I went down with my friend David and his family, who I had spent Christmas lunch with. The trip was only a few days but was so fun. We went kayaking, and did a bit of beer sampling at the local brewery. On our last day we decided that we were going to try and kayak across the bay to the sand dunes and go for a bit of a hike. We managed to get across the bay but stopped short of the sand dunes at a little inlet to check the current. Unfortunately the current was too strong for us to paddle across and this one inlet is well known for having sharks so we decided to relax for a bit then make our way back. We started heading back with the wind at about 25knts and a strong current coming in it took us almost about 45min to get not even a quarter of the way back. We had finally got through the hardest part when a dorsal fin popped up in front of us. Our first thought was shark so we sat there and waited to see if it was a dolphin or shark. Another fin popped up and a head relieving us, it was a couple of dolphins going fishing. We ended up getting a tow back to the other side shortly after by a jetski that David's Dad sent to get us.

I have also been to Rottnest Island which is the only place in the world with Quokka's. It is the most beautiful place ever with crystal clear water. Most of the time however was spent at the bar, after we got lost walking, so we didn't get to see much of the island. I will most definitely be going back there for more exploration. Next time with a bike, some snorkel gear and hopefully my dive certificate!

The photos posted are from Kings park which has recently been burnt in a bush fire and also photos from rottnest. I have finally bought a digital camera so hopefully more shots to come.




Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

DSC01413DSC01413
DSC01413

Steve, Andres, Me, Emma and Sanna


25th February 2009

Oh gosh, I didn't think it was possible but you're even darker than before! Man you can so pass off as a filipino or hawaiian anyday!
25th February 2009

haha, that was a like 2.5 months ago as well.... should see me now

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0424s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb