Summary


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia
August 29th 2008
Published: August 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well after close on 3 months on the road, and the prospect of having to return to work in the office looming, I thought I'd put a few final thoughts down here.

Favourite Place


All of the places allong the Gibb River Rd in the Kimberley were absolutely wonderfull. The highlight for me though was the Mitchell Falls. Words can't really describe this place. Simply awesome.

Least Favourite Place


The drive between Townsville and Cairns. Long, dry cattle plains with little to see, and hense quite a boring drive. Friends know I don't mind a long drive, but at least give me something to see whilst the kilometers tick away .

Where Would I Go Back To


I'll definitely be visiting the Kimberly, and Red Centre again. The one spot I would have loved to spend time in, but didn't have the chance, was Cape York. I didn't want to rush a visit just to the tip and back, so I decided I'll have to come back to "do the cape" another trip - and I will. 3-4 weeks is needed on the Cape to see and enjoy all it has to offer (let alone the 7-8 days drive from Perth to Cairns).

The Damage Bill


A trip like this, on the type of roads and tracks I travel, is likely to involve some damage to vehicles, equipment and other items. This trip was no exception. Fortunately all damage was minor; 2 windscreens (rock damage from roadtrains - replaced free on insurance), one passenger side mirror (hit against a tree avoiding a dumb tourist flying down the middle of a track), spot lights stopped working (electrical connection vibrated loose over corugations). Unfortunately in Australia, wildlife is also an issue, and for me it was no exception; 1 hawk, 3 assorted small birds, 1 euro (small grey kangaroo) hit and all dead. I also just avoided hitting an emu.

Some Statistics


I thought I'd give you a few stats on my trip, so here goes;
Time away - Approx 3 months (12 weeks). All except 2 nights spent in tent/swag.
Total Distance Covered - Just over 23,000km
Most expensive Fuel - Tjukayirla (on the great central rd) $2.50L for diesel
Cheapest Fuel - Cairns $1.62 for diesel
Approx Cost - About $8000 for fuel, food, accomodation, etc.

Anyhow, that's about it. Hope the info and pics on the previous entries was of interest.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0469s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb