Working for Don Green


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia
August 15th 2005
Published: October 6th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Cherry PickerCherry PickerCherry Picker

I can't decide if it's safer on the ground or beside Don in the cherry picker as he waves his chainsaws around...
My recent time in Kalgoorlie has consisted of working for Mr Don Green, who's slogan is
THE MAN TO SEE!

He employs backpackers who are in between jobs and I had heard much about him before Chris came in one afternoon saying Don required two 'men' for the next day. I offered my services and attended with Chris & Paul the next morning. Don, who had not taken on a girl before, seemed confused but ended up keeping me on for my final 3 weeks in Kal!

One day, during a truck driving lesson, Josh asked Don how I was doing during and Don replied "good, she works like a bloke, she's consistant and she'd make a good wife"!!
Hmmm I'll take that as a compliment...

So my duties gradually included:
Tree lopping (assistant)
Concreting
Removals (once - never again)
Cleaning & delivering chairs for a function
Driving a bus & trailor to collect food & feed camels
Driving tourists on a tour to visit the camels!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

At the tipAt the tip
At the tip

Having dodged Don's dropping branches and heaved them onto the truck, at the tip the loader unloads the branches from the truck for us (thank goodness!). Sexy work gear eh?!
ConcretingConcreting
Concreting

One finished job at a family centre.
Bus & trailerBus & trailer
Bus & trailer

Here's what I drove round town, collecting food & delivering to the grateful (unsmelly) camels.
Deb & CamelsDeb & Camels
Deb & Camels

Hungry camels were happy to see us each day and munch away!
CarrotCarrot
Carrot

Hey where's my carrot?
CamelCamel
Camel

One of the elder group of camels... curious buggers!
Don & DebDon & Deb
Don & Deb

Next to one of his driving school cars...
Aboriginal Art Shop!Aboriginal Art Shop!
Aboriginal Art Shop!

Here's a few of the paintings I couldn't afford, displayed in Don Green's shop! Bro, this is where your wooden bits were purchased!


10th December 2005

i knew you were a hard assed bitch!

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0368s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb