Return to Southern Cross....I must be crazy!


Advertisement
Published: July 20th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Sarah and the girls dropped me off in Kalgoorlie for the train to Southern Cross. Weird feeling heading back to Southern Cross after so long. 7 months to be exact. I arrived in SX at about 9:20am and Paddy was there waiting for me. The main reason I'm coming back to SX is because it's his 30th birthday today. The timing of going to Kambalda and all worked out so I'm able to celebrate with him.

He drove me over to Kylie's where I'm going to stay. So good to see her and her little boy Jayden. Got Kylie slowly out of bed and they all got dressed and we headed over to The Club (the other pub in town) which is getting renovated. So, we had to head over to The Palace for lunch. The Palace is yet another pub in town but locals don't usually go in there.

Anyways, had some lunch and then slowly but surely all the boys started popping up. We spent the afternoon down at The Club drinking with everyone. Some of the other boys who aren't in SX anymore either also came up for the weekend. So I got to see Dan and Shane-o again too. Kylie and I dropped Jayden off at the babysitters and then got ready.

Walking back into the Railway Pub was such a weird feeling. It felt a bit like home. It would have been so easy for me to just slip back behind the bar haha but I DIDN'T!!!! Instead I stayed on the other side of the pub and enjoyed my night. Everyone remembered me and were all happy to see me again and hear about where i've been.

It was a fun night as im sure you can tell from the pictures haha. I don't think I ended up in bed until about 7:30 the next morning! Yikes..

The next day the boys were back in the pub bright and early. Kylie and I headed to the coffee shop for some breakfast hoping it would make us feel better. Don't think it worked haha. We spent the afternoon at The Club again so the boys could bet on the horses. A lot of the others headed back into Perth that afternoon. We all headed over to the Railway for a bit after that. We were all exhausted and I think we all ended up in bed by about 9:30pm haha.

THe next morning Neville was driving into Perth early so I caught a ride with him instead of waiting around for my train in the late afternoon. Southern Cross sure hasn't changed one bit! It was nice to visit again but i'm sure glad i'm not living there anymore! It's too hard on the liver!


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



20th July 2011

SX
I am reading Laurene and anxiously await the photos of the north trip.
20th July 2011

I'm reading them :)
the planking photos are funny, hope nobody got too injured n the process! glad you had a great time in SX again!

Tot: 0.231s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 14; qc: 68; dbt: 0.1134s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb