Countdown


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Perth
April 6th 2013
Published: March 30th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Today I booked my next holiday, I will be travelling to Penang in July, giving us some 5* hotel R&R flying with Singapore Airlines. I am very pleased because I managed to do some online homework and had a price match saving of $600 ($300pp). I decided to go with a price match as opposed to purchasing online, I like to think in that way I keep a local shop front open. Any problems I can report back to them.

Following on from my booking I can only describe how disappointed I am with the final result and total lack to professional competence displayed by the agent.

Because I was a price match and therefore required an instant purchase on Easter Sat, due to public holidays and Easter in Australia the next day of business was Tuesday. I hadn’t received my confirmation email. I had to call, again give my email address, call again and finally send an email as to receive a reply, basic mistakes!

However having received my Itinerary I noticed the flights requested by me are not booked. I requested a 6 hour stopover in Singapore so as to fit in some electronic shopping for my husband. The agent has us in/out within two hours. Considering she quizzed me on the stopover time I am amazed to see the wrong flight booked.

So what I am leading to here as a mature age Tourism student, I would have failed several exams this week if I had presented a customer contact and itinerary this poor. As travellers we can expect the unexpected and just have to learn to live with or find an alternative to the problem but how frustrating to be handed problems before you even begin.

Bottom line read, reread everything before you leave once you are on that plane the problem becomes yours. I will be returning to have the flight I requested, hopefully she will learn to cover her work more professionally in the future.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0423s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb