Making summer moves


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Perth
January 15th 2013
Published: February 5th 2013
Edit Blog Post

After been 'living' (maybe staying is a better word) in Fremantle, I moved to a house in Cottesloe. Fremantle is supposedly a part of Perth or some say it's their own city. Freo is how it is called has the peace of a town a has everything what a city has. It is situated south of the Swan river and the big harbour, it's very cosy, close to everything but away from the busy crowd of the city. But of course it has a few bogans walking and lying around, and one character in special: the orange man. Everything is orange, he even paints his face orange.

Cottesloe was a before I left already one of the places I considered as a possibility to live and this stayed a subject of conversation due to the owner of the hostel. He lives in Cott and rents out rooms. I moved in mid December. There were and certainly are some doubts as I knew the owner is quite a character and showed some issues here and there e.g. mood swings and weird sense of logic, which of course makes absolute sense to him and thus for everyone else 'in his world'. It turned up a few notches after seeing a different side of him as in 'crossing the line'; getting angry, making inappropriate decisions, making and taking things personally and in the end blames the other. For him he finds everything he does fair. Time to look for a new place I hear you say? Yes I am, kinda.

Cott is a rich area of Perth, that's actually a minus for me. What are the big plusses: living 50 meters from the gorgeous beach, it takes me 5 minutes to bike to work, I have my own room, hearing the ocean at night, and the sink is orange and in the shape of a sea shell. That actually makes me smile, yes, every single day.

From here I am meeting people I have met through the hostel, through work or through others. I'm sadly still applying for 'real' jobs. There is a lot of relaxing, swimming and reading involved as well. Also skype occasionally brings me face-to-face with the loved ones who stayed behind. I had my New years sitting on the beach. And my Christmas I went on a little road trip southbound with 9 Italians..that was interesting & have seen some beautiful places and slept on the beach. Which was actually a bit of a disaster being very cold and I hardly slept, but apparently you have to be always uberexcited about it.

And the good thing is as well that I found I do not necessarily need a job as a social worker to apply for residency visa and I've let go of the idea that I have to stay in Perth, which gives me immediately more opportunities in my hands!


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0337s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb