Here We Go Again


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Perth
July 30th 2010
Published: July 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

SydneySydneySydney

We took a trip to Sydney to confirm if we were compatible on the road together. Any fears were soon bridged.
Recently, as I have gone to sleep each night, Europe has been ready and waiting to haunt my dreams. It is beckoning, taunting, whispering in my ear. "Come back, Oliver. There's still so much to see. What about Eastern Europe? Have you seen Greece? Have you seen Russia? Have you seen my work socks?" I later found out the last bit was only my brother, Tom, rummaging about in my room. But Europe has been whispering, and it's time to do something about it.

As luck would have it, I met Karina, a Belarussian/Swedish exchange student, about a year ago. Something clicked, she became my girlfriend, and when the time came for her to return home I decided to come too.

I'd spent the past 6 months in Perth elbow-deep in parsnips working as a humble fruit and veg merchant, and as thrilling as this was (once there was a real live frog in the lettuce!), I took the chance and gambled that adventure was the better option. So I bought a ticket to London, one way.

Here is the plan so far:

I'm in Kuala Lumpur now, I fly to London in a few hours, meet
Carry on Luggage?Carry on Luggage?Carry on Luggage?

Rottnest Island. Just proving that I'm a supportive kind of guy.
Karina in Stockholm 5 days later.

Predicted (potential but not guaranteed) highlights in the following months include:

Uppsala to Athens by train
Scandinavia
Exploring ancient caves in the Croatian Archipelagos
Investigating daily life in Minsk at Karina's Grandma's - (don't mention the Eurovision finals...)
Passport Control at the Russian border
Leonard Cohen in concert
A Baltic Cruise to Helsinki


In terms of planning...

I once heard someone say "Failing to plan is planning to fail" and I can see why people like that. It has a good message, there's a bit of wordplay and it has such a catchy ring to it. If I were to write my own one, however, it would go: "Failing to plan often results in spontaneous fun, and 9 times out of 10 it creates a better story, even though sometimes you might think you're about to die or be killed, and this can be traumatic but also exhilarating at the same time." Catchy, sure. Melodramatic? Maybe. Hallmark worthy? Apparently not (according to my rejection letter).

So, almost nothing is planned with certainty besides two flights. Unfortunately, Karina and I have the organisational skills of a pair of drunk walruses setting up a game of chess in the dark. But in our favour, we do have 4 different passports (between us), speak 3.5ish different languages, and carry only hand luggage. Also, I can cook an above average carbonara if I need to win favour with any difficult Europeans or immigration officers. Who knows what kind of triumphs and disasters to expect at the end of it all (and I'm not still talking about the carbonara).

I have a feeling the readers of this travelblog will be a varied bunch from all walks of life, so I will be sure to write in a universally pleasing and inoffensive manner. I will only write if it's a worthwhile story, I'll only use tasteful humour, and I'll do my best to avoid puns wherever possible (although when we visit the township of Brest, in Belarus, I might not be able to control myself).

Anyway, here we go again!!


Advertisement



30th July 2010

Can't wait for part 2!!!! (Found thse socs by the way) HAHAHAHAHAHA!!! Have fun and miis you already, Big Boy!
30th July 2010

Good luck
Yo men, that's coooool, like your writing language, maybe one day after 99 years living in Australia I can do the same. Is it true about frog??? Did you take that pair of blue socks with you?:)
30th July 2010

All the best for Brest!
Enjoy yourselves and take care! I look forward to reading, yet again, about your exploits! - Your Number 1 Fan...
31st July 2010

make up the spare bed?
Look forward to all the new entries, will you be visiting Frome? We're in France at the moment but get back to England late August; would be good to see you and hope you know you're welcome to stay. Can't write much as all the keys on this keyboard are arse over tit which makes typing very difficult! Best wishes for safe travels. Gary
1st August 2010

Can't wait for part 2!!!! (Found those socks by the way) HAHAHAHAHAHA!!! Have fun and miss you already, Big Boy!
3rd August 2010

Hmm
Hello fellow traveller. I stumbled upon your travel "blog" and "have" decided to read it. Obviously fellow "reader" Tom, we'll call him, thought his comment was so brilliant, he had to use it twice. I hope your trip is a great success.
5th August 2010

Keep Abreast
Sorry you may not be doing the pun thing but I have set no such resrictions on myself! I like you are not planning too much and I am sure you two walruses will enjoy your chess match in darkness all the more

Tot: 0.217s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0441s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb