"it's going to be a long day"


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Perth
November 25th 2009
Published: November 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Got up at 4:30am and hopped straight in the shower. Taxi man was overly prompt and was beeping us at quarter past 5. Luckily we were pretty organised and ready to go. Taxi man drove like a man on a mission. KL airport is lovely, really plush and time passed quickly. We shared a BLT sarnie and a snickers and made our way up to the gate. Weirdly you get scanned twice and I had my water confiscated then set the scanners off! Me and Rob entertained ourselves by trying and failing to perfect our aussie accents.

The flight was so short, just 40mins and Rob kindly let me have the window seat. The view when we were coming in to land in Singapore was unbelievable. The number of boats and pretty little islands was stunning. Singapore looks really built up but also inviting and pretty and we can't wait to come back and explore. When coming through customs I was again stopped as they'd spotted my campervan cutlery and I had to dig to the bottom of my bag to prove I wasn't carrying a machete 😊 The guy was really nice though. We arrived at the airport 4hrs before we could check in and tried to pass the time reading and people watching though I got quite restless after about 2hrs.

Once through to departures we grabbed a couple of Subway sanies and a couple of amaretto choccies which were delicious. We wandered round the shops for a bit then things took an unexpected twist when we logged onto the internet and I decided to look at reviews of the hostel we were going to. They were terrible. Highlights were:
yellow/brown dirty sheets
halfway house for the homeless
fleas
gangs hanging around outside
My personal faves were "we had to clean bloodstains off the light switches" and "my sister was filmed in the shower".

So we decided to try and book somewhere different. Managed to buy a bargain phonecard and cancel our reservation at Hostel from Hell and book us into somewhere more backpackery that had good reviews though obviously more expensive.

Arrive at about 2am at hostel. It feels safe here and though a little scruffy round the edges is homely. Still not sleeping right and and was up early again. I'm excited about being in Oz and I'm looking forward to a day exploring Perth!

- Suse x


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



30th November 2009

well jealous
hi. Glad you are both having a nice time. The pics look good (and warm). Keep me posted and I'll keep reading! X

Tot: 0.164s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0912s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb