Perth and Margaret River


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Perth
August 19th 2008
Published: August 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

It’s been a busy couple of days - and having a fabulous time! I went with Andy and Val to the Aquarium and to the Caversham Wildlife Park. I have seen a few kangaroos around the roadsides, but had a chance to pet some of the furry critters at the Park (as well as koalas). It was incredible to see the various fauna from this region - echidna, Tasmanian devils, cassowary, emu, kookaburra, etc. In the evening, I went to Leisa and Wency’s place for a delicious Indian feast. Judy joined us and we had a great evening of food, wine, conversation.

I got up early on Monday morning for the two-day Margaret River tour. The area is south of Perth and the tour had several stops - including the Eagle Heritage Raptor Center, Leeuwin Lighthouse, Xanadu Vineyard and finally the town of Margaret River. I stayed in a great little apartment so cooked a nice meal of fish, salad and potatos. After some shopping in the morning, I was picked up for the second day of the tour. The tour was kicked off with an awesome bbq. We had scotch fillet steaks, sausages, salad, etc. right on Margaret River. We then headed to Watershed Vineyard where we were welcomed by Fabia (from Brazil), then headed to Redgate Vineyard, stopped at a venison farm, chocolate factory, Lost Plot Vineyard and finally a cheese factory. On the way back to Perth we had dinner at the Busselton Jetty. Whew! Now, I am going to read e-mail and then relax. Just one more day in Perth and then I leave on Thursday morning for Port Douglas (Eastern Coast by the Great Barrier Reef).




Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Augusta capeAugusta cape
Augusta cape

The indian and southern ocean meet here (by the lighthouse)
Busselton JettyBusselton Jetty
Busselton Jetty

Longest wooden jetty in southern hemisphere


21st August 2008

I'm JEALOUS!
My friend - it looks like you are having a great time! Nice blogging - I had my doubts. Thanks for sharing your wonderful adventures with me! I will drink some Australian wine in your honor tonight. Hugs, CIP
25th August 2008

doh! the little devil!
what a cutie. keep posting!

Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.042s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb