Port Douglas


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Port Douglas
August 22nd 2008
Published: August 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

I arrived in Port Douglas late last night and this place is a pretty cool, beach community. It's a smaller town up the coast from Cairns and I am staying close to the beach so hung out there today for a bit (as well as stocked up on some supplies since am staying at an apartment so can do a bit of cooking/laundry, etc.). I walked over to a restaurant on the pier for dinner to see them feed a giant Grouper named, George, but George didn't show. It started raining so the guy that feeds him said that's probably why (?). Anyway, I had a bucket of lovely, huge prawns for dinner and met a nice Australian couple so all was not lost. bThe place I am staying has outdoor internet service so this is going to be a quick post since it's evening and I am about to get attacked by mosquitos. I will post photos tomorrow or the next day of the beach. It's a beautiful 4 mile stretch of beach with hills, palm trees, etc, but the water is a bit cold. I am getting up early in the morning for my first dive trip to the Great Barrier Reef. I am really psyched - although they said the weather could be a bit dicey tomorrow so may have rough waters. I will dive again on Monday so we'll see how it goes. Ciao for now!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0293s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb