Work, work, work, work.... play!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Perth
May 18th 2008
Published: May 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Mommy + joey = cuteMommy + joey = cuteMommy + joey = cute

You can see this joey wallaby is taking up a lot of room in mommy's pouch. And he's curious about the outside, so he's probably gonna get the boot sometime soon.
April 28-May 18
Hm. Well, truthfully, not much has been going on the past 3 weeks. I’ve been working on papers and assignments like a madwoman. And I’ve discovered that although the work isn’t harder than the stuff we get at home, the grading sure is harsher. My considerable academic ego has been brought down several pegs. I’ve gotten a few grades (or ‘marks’) back, and it’s not pretty. Comparatively speaking, though, I’m in about the same percentile I was in at home. So basically I’ve concluded the British/Aussie grading system is crap.
Other than school, I’ve gone to another AFL game, where the West Coast Eagles got creamed. It was an exciting game, though. I’ve also watched/played some sports- I was conned into playing soccer last week. Jon will never have to worry about me usurping that sport from him. Ew. And then just today I learned the rules of netball. It’s like a no-contact form of basketball for girls. Except there’s no such thing as a no-contact sport for girls, because athletic girls are competitive, catty, and clever enough to get away with it. And there was a bit of excitement at the end of our horrible first match-
Spectacled Flying FoxesSpectacled Flying FoxesSpectacled Flying Foxes

Maybe one called the other a four-eyes? In any case, these fellas were having a little boxing match...
one of the girls broke her leg. At least I think that’s what happened. She just fell down and started screaming. She says she heard cracking. But it was her knee she was clutching, so I’m not sure what it was. I waited with most of the team for the ambulance (which took its sweet time) and hopefully she’s ok.
In happier news, I went to Caversham Wildlife Park yesterday. It was pretty fun. Most of it was like a zoo, with cages and stuff, but there was this giant enclosure where you could walk among, pet, and feed tons of kangaroos. And I got to pet a wombat and a koala. The birds were pretty, too. Of course my favorite was a fairy blue wren I spotted who was wild. And I have some funny video clips of flying fox boxing matches and a Tasmanian devil throwing a temper tantrum. Has anyone ever wondered why Taz from Looney Tunes doesn’t look anything like a real Tasmanian devil? I have.



Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

My baby's an al-bean-o!My baby's an al-bean-o!
My baby's an al-bean-o!

Aussies pronounce albino weirdly. So I assume their kangaroos do too.
Like a teddy bear...Like a teddy bear...
Like a teddy bear...

I think if it weren't so long, he'd be sucking on his toes like a pacifier
It should say CavershamIt should say Caversham
It should say Caversham

Guess I forgot to tell John to get the whole title in. Oh well. This is Bugsy. He's a wombat. He looks like Sweetie to me. He felt similar to the kangaroos, except for some guard hairs that were more porcine.
GenghisGenghis
Genghis

He's a juvenile Gang-gang cockatoo.
Look, ma, a dingo!Look, ma, a dingo!
Look, ma, a dingo!

Of course, he's captive bred. But still, the genetics are there. This little kid was fascinated by him.
A red wattlebirdA red wattlebird
A red wattlebird

This guy was really friendly. Either that or he just wanted to peck my eyes out. In any case, you can see his wattle quite clearly.
Heifer!  Heifer!Heifer!  Heifer!
Heifer! Heifer!

Ok, so I know it's probably not a heifer. I know nothing about cows, calves, etc. It's a family road trip inside joke kind of thing.
PreggersPreggers
Preggers

So Sarah and I agreed this goat is probably pregnant. With twins. I've never seen a goat that big.
That's as close as I gotThat's as close as I got
That's as close as I got

I swear that llama was searching for an excuse to bite me. I'm not stupid. Jeffrey probably put it up to this.
Mini-baby!Mini-baby!
Mini-baby!

So cute! A mini-colt! I want one!
Water buffaloWater buffalo
Water buffalo

Not a cebu.
Evil emuEvil emu
Evil emu

You couldn't trust those beady eyes.
Red-tailed black cockatooRed-tailed black cockatoo
Red-tailed black cockatoo

So upon seeing this, and comparing to some of my previous pictures, I think I was seeing white-tailed black cockatoos before. I has just assumed there were different morphs of a single species, but there are actually different species.
Bush thick-kneeBush thick-knee
Bush thick-knee

It really does have thick knees. But for all that, I think they could have given it a more original name.
EchidnaEchidna
Echidna

The closest I'll ever get to one. And probably the most I'll ever see of one still alive.
Al-bean-o DingosAl-bean-o Dingos
Al-bean-o Dingos

There were also tons of albino western brushtail possums, but they were all asleep and not good for pictures. Freaks :-)


Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0467s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb