The Ups and Downs of Adjusting


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Perth
May 14th 2008
Published: May 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well.

I still haven't mustered up the courage to try Vegamite, probably tomorrie.

I taught my first class yesterday. It went really well. I botched up the first session ( I had two). The posterior part of the arch taping slide off the ankle. It was slightly embarassing, but I rolled with it and saved face, haha. They caught on very quickly. It was nice to be busy with people instead of an office. I am hoping that once the final's are over I can make friends with the older students and have something to do in the evenings or weekends. It get's pretty lonely right now at night for me. But I'm getting a lot of work done, which is fine by me. Because I'm sure soon enough I'm not going to want to work at all! (On the research and projects)

I attached a ton of pictures of the house I am staying at. That's really all the photo's I have taken thus far.

This morning was rough. The jet lag and home-sickness finally caught up with me as my advisor said it would. So I called home crying like a baby. I felt better afterwards though. And I feel good now, just a tad irritable. But I guess after crying all morning that's to be expected, haha.

I've been keeping up on my running here. The air is different, so I only get to about 30-40 minutes. But that's fine with me. With as much as I walk, I might not keep running. (Yeah, right haha). I am using the train system here. It's more expensive than I'd like, but I don't want to burden anyone, plus once I get used to it all I'll be able to explore the actual city a bit more. I want to go down to Fremantle this weekend and check out the shops and spend the day at the ocean.

Outside of my work at the Uni, I think a lot of you would love the area (the non-city party, anyway). It's not all that different from the US.

I keep thinking about how short the time here really is going to be. I have 52 days left. That's a little over 7 weeks. That's really not all that long at all. I am an independent person, so traveling around solo doesn't bother me a ton, however there are certain places it would be more fun to visit with a friend (i.e. the pub, hiking, camping, swimming, etc).

Speaking of swimming, it's starting to be "winter here". I laughed because the first three days I was sweating a LOT when I was walking to the Uni or wherever. But yesterday and today it was a bit chilly. I get hot once I have been walking a bit, but it's not warm enough to swim, but I HAVE to at least once. I've never swam in the Indian Ocean.

I was invited out to a party in a couple weeks with one of Su's sons. He lives in a flat with a ton of other people from around the world. I think it will be fun if he remembers that he invited me, ahah.

Anyway. I guess I should get back to work.
I miss ALL of you.

Cheers,
Megan



Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement



14th May 2008

Hey Meg it looks like a nice place. I hope you get to enjoy the pool if its not to cold. The dog looks like it could be Misters brother ( if he were shaved). Similar faces. Keep your chin up and remember its a once in a lifetime chance and we will be here when you get back. We love you bunches
14th May 2008

nice pad. :) glad you're adjusting well, 'Gan.
14th May 2008

The Ups and Downs of Adjusting
Wow Mega! The house looks awesome and I'm glad to hear that you're having a great time teaching your classes. Miss you and come home soon so we can have another party! :)
22nd May 2008

nice
hey meg what a beautiful place, enjoy the experience and have fun. cant wait to you get back to here about your experience. i hope you get the chance to go exploring and to go swimming in the ocean. i love you very much, talk to you soon. aunt chrissy

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0419s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb