Exploring Perth


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Perth
June 25th 2005
Published: January 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

King's ParkKing's ParkKing's Park

That's Perth behind us.
In Perth CBD
A little window shopping
Retail therapy!

Sarah and Sharifa had a biweekly (or is that semi-weekly…anyway once every two weeks…) meeting to go to for a few hours so Sarah dropped me off in Perth to wander about the streets…basically doing a little shopping! There are basically two main streets full of shops that I browsed. I picked up a few things like a pair of sunnies at 50% off. Whoohoo!

I met up again with Sarah around 1:30 and we headed towards the Metro food court. I had Japanese food on my mind and was going to order an assortment of sushi but thought the Chicken Katsudon with rice would be more filling. It was huge but that didn’t stop me from finishing it all. 😊

We got a hold of Karen and made plans to meet in Fremantle on Sunday for breakfast. I look forward to seeing Karen again and what Fremantle has to offer as well.

After we finished stuffing ourselves we walked over to the Western Australia Art Museum (which btw was free!) We were enjoying some of the art work around the museum where we came to the old courthouse/courtroom. It was pretty bare…Judges bench and the defendants box. There weren’t even any benches etc for people to sit. Anyway, Sarah and I thought it would be funny to take a photo of me standing in the defendants box…Well, not thinking we were in an art gallery took a photo. And just as Sarah took a photo one of the art gallery guards came up to us and said…”I’m going to have to confiscate that camera for 28 days. You’ll have to delete that photo…blah, blah, blah…” Whoops! I deleted that photo in front of the guard and apologized profusely. Then he made some comment about, “it’s not good coming from overseas!” So we had a bit of a brush with security and from that point on noticed there weren’t any visible signs telling us to not take photos. Plus I felt I was being watched! What really irked me was that there was one sigh at the beginning say no cameras (amongst other no-no’s to bring in) and I even asked the lady at the front desk whether she needed to check my bag or not. Oh well!

From the Art Gallery we drove to Kings Park. This is a huge park that looks like it’d be a great place to go for a long walk…or at least get lost! We walked around the War Memorial and had some nice views of the Perth skyline and way off in the distance was Fremantle and where Sarah and her family live. We also walked through a few gardens by this amazing fountain that shoots water sky high and then over a tree top walk. The tree top walk wasn’t all that exciting especially since I was on the tree top walk in the Valley of the Giants just a few days ago. It was pretty new and I believe just built a couple of years ago. A bit more wandering around Kings Park and getting some fresh air we headed back home for a yummy home cooked meal. Harold did well with the lamb, potatoes, beans and bread. Mmm, mmm, mmm. Gotta love a good baked potato with all the fixings!

We all watched the “Nutty Professor” and since it was playing on TV we had to sit through a lot of commercials. A lot of the same commercials I might add. 1) Leather sale 2) Honda - under $20,000 ($19,990) 3) Polident 4) Snugglers. After a while to “spice up” the waiting time, Sarah, Adam and myself all bet on which commercial would come on first. We started to watch the “Nutty Professor II” but then remembered that Iron Chef was on so we changed the channel. On todays show the secret ingredient was sea bass. There was a bit of a twist to this show in that Iron Chef Japanese and Iron Chef Chinese were working together against two challengers. Surprisingly the Challengers won! Now that doesn’t happen very often!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0477s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb