Time to pack my bags. I'm leaving on a jet plane


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Perth
June 21st 2005
Published: January 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Urgent call to bank
Royal Bank Security
All is okay now

Full House in my room
Pack up stuff and leave this joint
I’m off to Perth now.

I woke up when I received a text message from my dad telling me to call the bank ASAP! Hmm, I betcha I know why. I used my credit card a few times buying a few travel guides, a day pack, a jumper and a big expense of train tickets for my time in Europe (all booked by the way!) So it must have seemed like a red flag to the bank. Got it all cleared up and they said I should be able to continue spending. Good to know that things like this get flagged. I’m just irked because I told them back in December that I’d be going away but they didn’t seem too concerned. Oh well.

Because I was on the phone for so long I missed out on my free toast breakfast. But no biggie since I had some food to finish up in the fridge…open yoghurt containers don’t travel too well on the plane. Lol

I didn’t have the greatest sleep last night either because of the four Irish girls. They really don’t know how to whisper and they seem to be talking every waking moment. Good thing I can sleep through lots BUT was woken up before 7AM to their talking since they have to get up early for their first day at work doesn’t mean the rest of the room has to wake up too, does it?

The hostel was super busy yesterday since a highschool group was here yesterday. That meant all twelve of the beds in our room were also occupied. I’m not sure which girl but one of them really stinks and it’s really bad when you’re first entering the room…really gross!

The ride to the Melbourne airport was pretty uneventful. Check in at the Virgin Blue counter was super easy and fast since I used the computerized kiosk. The boarding process was delayed a bit because the crew hadn’t arrived yet so I though we’d get into Perth late but actually go in 25 minutes early! Virgin Blue is a pretty nice airline considering it is a “no-frills” (no food unless you pay for it) type of airline. They have leather/vinyl seats, ample legroom, face painting and what seemed to be child-minding services. Sarah mentioned that on one journey they were on that they even got them playing games!

Since I was early I grabbed myself a few Perth brochures and plunked myself down on a chair. Before I knew it Sarah was standing before me! It was so nice to be greeted by a familiar face. 😊 We drove back to her house and relaxed a bit in the TV room and chatted. Adam, Sarah’s little brother, came home from school and had a snack before we took him to Tae Kwon Do. When we got back to Sarah’s we were greeted by the neighbours dog Gigi. Really hyper little dog. Sarah went to return Gigi and I overhear the neighbour say she didn’t realize Gigi was out! Hmm, maybe you should close the gate. Anyway, I’m standing in the driveway when all of a sudden the garage door starts to open…what? It wasn’t me! I was just standing there. Then it dawned on me that Sarah’s mom, Sharifa had come home from work. Lol

Sharifa was kind enough to start on dinner for us as Sarah and I went back out to collect Adam from Tae Kwon Do…did he go to the correct lesson?? When we got back, dinner smelled so good! Noodles and prawns, rice and chicken, beetroot and a bit of sushi too! Oh I’m so spoiled!

We took it pretty easy at night, chatting, watching TV, laughing at Vietnam movie clips. Now that was good to bust a gut.

I look forward to going on tour tomorrow to see Margaret River and Albany and points in between but look even more forward to coming back to Perth and spending time with Sarah and her family - parents, Sharifa and Harold and brother Adam. Hopefully we’ll be able to hook up with Karen during my stay here in Perth as well.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0495s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb