Perth....golf and wine...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Perth
May 2nd 2023
Published: May 4th 2023
Edit Blog Post

I'm going to try to avoid to be late by weeks/months on the coming few blogs...more discoveries to come in 2023...but first, here is my third visit to Perth area.

No diving on this trip, it's all about golf golf and drink few solid wines!

I'm down under for a full 8 days. My lovely wife being very busy in the office, she is down for five days for the long 1st May weekend. Bali to Perth is only 3 hours and half away. We have the choice between Jetstar, Batik or Air Asia once it comes to direct connections. They are all low-cost airlines. Jetstar has a solid bad reputation the last few months, so that's a no no. I'm actually more than happy with Batik planes and 20kgs allowance...but the schedule is not great. So we are left with Air Asia....new planes...top schedule...decent price...and yes, it's a basic low-cost experience. If you want a legacy airline, such as SQ...you'll sit 6 hours in planes....plus two hours transfers....no way to compare this to a 3.5 hours direct experience.



The goal here is simple, top golf courses, decent places to stay...nice wines...and sunny Autumn weather.

My first three nights, I'm spending them 70kms South of Perth at the Sebel Mandurah. Nice upgrade with a water view and a nice room. Sadly, on landing, my first day would be very wet. I nearly didn't play Meadow Springs as my first round of golf. Tee time was 1.30pm, but by the time it was pouring down. Third visit to Perth, never saw anything than the sun prior to this day. By 3pm rain was over....by 3.30pm I was on the course with a twilight rate and a buggy...done by by 5.30pm, with a nice 80 and 2 birdies on the score card. The course was simply gorgeous!



Next morning, it's on to the Cut. Just few minutes South of Mandurah. I'm playing with one of my friends from Bali, living in Perth and his brother. The Cut is a top golf course...tough as it can be...14 holes are super links type...tough...but I only lost 2 balls today, and found out 3 of them! It's the first time I'm playing this serious golf course...windy...great views!

Third day morning...early morning...and by 7.40 on the first tee of the Links at Kennedy Bay. Sunny sunny, but imagine, it's only 8 degrees out there! There is a new real estate project going around this place...so only 9 holes to play for now. Play here years ago...no impressed this time. I'm done by 9.20, ready to head to the airport to pick up my lovely wife...and we drive 50 minutes North of Perth...this time for 18 holes at Sun City, some of the fastest green I ever play on...super fun!



The next 4 nights, we are sleeping in downtown in Perth. For those not used to Down Under....Downtown is actually call the CBD! We are going to test the 3 Hilton properties the city has to offer. I used to stay at the Hilton and I can claim it's still a solid property!

Saturday was food, wine and some shopping around before heading back to to some golf on Sunday with Araluen in the hills just outside the city. I told my lovely wife that I'll make sure she would spot a lot of kangaroos....this is what happened over the next three days with Araluen, next came Monday Joondalup and finally the Vines, were I play 27 out of the 36 holes on offer.



Perth, this is wrap! Wine in the evening was amazing! Golf was superb...I took 24 balls with me...but actually came back with 28 of them...so I guess my golf is not that bad.....but that's 2kgs less of shopping to go back home! Don't forget, we did bring back amazing wines!



Last fun comments...Perth was actually my first ever blog on travelblog...some 16 years ago...I was young...time has flied since than...and yes, it was pretty good time! And pretty soon....300,000 hits on this travelblog...fun isn't it!

I have no idea how long we are going to live in Bali....but if it's few years, we are back to Perth sooner or later!

Next blog...back under the water...next flight, tomorrow!


Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0482s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb