July 29, 2009


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Perth » Perth City
July 29th 2009
Published: July 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I love Wednesdays.

They are the best class day. I only have 2 classes for 2 hours each on Wednesdays. In the first one he talks for 45 minutes. We get a 15 minute break. And then we watch a movie. except today the movie didn't even work so we all just got to leave. The second one she talks for 45 min, we get a 15 min break, and then we talk in small groups/share with the class for the other 45 min.

And then my day is over and I can get work done or nap or whatever. I got Jack Kerouac's On the Road out of the library. So I'm alternating between reading that and primary sources about hummock grasslands for my australian vegetation class.

Dinner was disgusting tonight. It was all vegetarian. Such a disappointment. But we got tickets to a ball they're having. It's free for us but if we want a guest it would be $100 (obviously none of us are going to take a guest for that much money), but I'm hoping that means its nice. If we end up going.

I also bought a plane ticket to Singapore for Sept 6 - Sept 13 (our spring break!). So I'll get to be warm and in the sun for a whole week (hopefully it's not still cold here by then!).

I'm trying to figure out how much money I have for everyday spending versus trips.. but I'm not sure what's going to come up. and I also don't know how much money I can actually use from home. So basically I just try to spend as little as possible day to day. I figure I'm saving a lot by not going out to eat at all and things like that, that I would normally do at home. Plus I don't have to pay for gas for my car here! So it will be good. Singapore is supposed to be super cheap. I'm excited.

So besides that, I'm saving to go to Rottnest Island, which you can see from the beach here. So, those are the 2 main things. Then if other things come along, I'll see what kind of money I have and what I'm doing.

It's hard to book anything for the end of the year, because they won't tell you what days and times your finals are until 3 weeks before. And plane tickets are so expensive by that time. So that is a bit of a downer. But all in all it's been a good second week. Classes tomorrow 9 - 2 and then I'm done for the week!

Advertisement



30th July 2009

Singapore
I envy your seeing Singapore....but when I worked in the Near East South Asia Region at the Pentagon we used to tell our girl govt employees never to go anywhere along...and so I pass that along to you, and keep your taser handy...but don't pass up the wonderful fabrics - silks, brocades, and gems.....hope you will have a counselor with you who is familiar with Singapore and its merchants and take a lot of pictures.....all well here, lv ga
31st July 2009

Funds
Britni-is there someplace there that you can get money from home and have it converted to the Australian currency?
2nd August 2009

Aunt Jodi - I emailed you about your questions, so I hope you got it! Britni

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0474s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb