The Perth City Tour and the Royal Perth Show!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Perth » Perth City
October 4th 2008
Published: November 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

perth city tourperth city tourperth city tour

shopping in Hay St.
It's my first weekend in Perth and we're off to the city!

Instead of taking the bus, we walked to the train station so we can pass by the Filipino Oriental store. Everything's expensive there of course, but it's good to have one nearby. We passed by the Midland Public Library and I plan on visiting it soon. Unfortunately, I can't get a library card yet because I need an ID with my address on it 😞 Sayang because they stock up on the latest books including novels.

At the train station, Kim bought me my own TransPerth card. It's similar to Singapore's pass which is valid on all public transport and reloadable almost anywhere. We took the 30-min. train ride to Perth.

In the city, we went down the shopping district along Hays St. We entered an alley and was transported to London -- we've just discovered London Court! It looks like a scene straight out of Harry Potter! The stores are small, cosy and quaint and they sell mostly English products (of course).

We exited the other end to the windiest street in WA and it indeed was. We walked quite a long way to
perth city tourperth city tourperth city tour

london court
the harbour and boarded the ferry going to the other side of the river. It was a 10-15 minute ride, very nice, and more importantly, free, as it turns out because we're still within the free-charge radius. We walked around a bit but it's a sleepy area. We had lunch at Dome. We were supposed to go the Perth Zoo but I was a little tired walking so we caught the ferry going back to Perth City.

In the city, I looked around some of the shops and Myer -- the biggest department store here. Everything's expensive here. I saw MNG though and it's almost the same price as in Manila so that's good. For local brands, I'm loving Valleygirl because of the designs and the cheap price 😱

After the city, we proceeded to Showgrounds station to go to the Royal Perth Show. It's a once-a-year fair featuring carnival rides, exhibits, animal shows, tiangges, etc. It was interesting. We loved the Cat Show (I missed my cats huhuhu) and as it was very cold, I ended up buying winter jackets in a kiosk selling export items. The Baby Phat and J. Lo jackets were surprisingly cheap buys
perth city tourperth city tourperth city tour

the Bell Tower
at only $25 each and they're gorgeous! I bought 2 -- 1 brown and 1 black, in preparation for winter next year hehehehe... I was warm and toasty going home 😊 Veryyy nice.


Additional photos below
Photos: 53, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

perth city tourperth city tour
perth city tour

barrack st. jetty
perth city tourperth city tour
perth city tour

the perth skyline
perth city tourperth city tour
perth city tour

barrack st. jetty
perth city tourperth city tour
perth city tour

swan river ferry
perth city tourperth city tour
perth city tour

perth city skyline across the river
perth city tourperth city tour
perth city tour

lunch at dome: lemon and chicken risotto, burger and milkshake :D
the royal perth showthe royal perth show
the royal perth show

old cars on exhibit
the royal perth showthe royal perth show
the royal perth show

old cars on exhibit
the royal perth showthe royal perth show
the royal perth show

old cars on exhibit
the royal perth showthe royal perth show
the royal perth show

i don't know what this is hehehe
the royal perth showthe royal perth show
the royal perth show

whatever this is... hehe
the royal perth showthe royal perth show
the royal perth show

fancy milking a (fake) cow? :D
the royal perth showthe royal perth show
the royal perth show

he's doing the morse code!!! send a message for free :)
the royal perth showthe royal perth show
the royal perth show

old horse carriages


2nd September 2010
perth city tour

The Goodness of Perth City's Tour
I like Perth since I'm on my 5th Grade. I love it because Perth is known as the city of light in Australia. The Perth's temperature is maybe same with mine, in Pontianak, that known as equator city. I hope I can go there as fast as possible so I can enjoy the Perth's Tour. But, I don't know when I can get there. I hope there is some lucky that can bring me to the City of Light.

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 12; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0409s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb