First post from Oz


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Perth » Perth City
November 5th 2008
Published: November 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone, thanks for clicking on the link.

This is my 2nd Morning in Australia, I arrived at 3:30pm Australian time on Monday, today's a Wednesday - I think. The flight here was predictably dull and long, so I shall spare you most of the details. Apart from to say that Singapore airline's new A380 is the most comfortable plane I've ever flown on. I received amazing service in Economy, snacks on demand, 3 meals (12 hour flight) and lots to watch on the polarized 8 inch screen. I doubt I'll be so lucky on the return flight!

My first experience of arriving in Perth was a speedy escape from the airport, I hardly had to show any documentation, and the exit was about 100 yards from arrivals. The bus journey to my hotel took in a few sights of inner-city Perth, what there is of it. I ended up on the third floor of a motel beside the Mitchell freeway, really noisy, but that made no difference, I slept from about 9pm through to 7 am. I seem to be having difficulty getting off of Western time, I awoke at 4 am this morning, read a book and watched Australian morning tv - brilliant!

Perth has two main shopping streets - Hay Street and Murray Street, I've had a quick look around them, and it's hard to distinguish between them and a London shopping district, apart from the absence of too much traffic and grey skies!

Today I'm going to book into a backpackers, maybe the Old Swan Barracks, that's near the station. Otherwise I'll try further into Northbridge, I've promised myself that I'll find somewhere to stay before midday so I'll have the rest of the day to explore and see a bit more of Perth. Should hopefully find some like-minded people who want to rent shared accommodation.

I've not added any images yet, when I've taken some worth showing I'll put them up at the following address:


Keep checking back, hopefully things will become more interesting once I've had the chance to explore!

Steven


Advertisement



5th November 2008

The virgin post
Sarah wonders why noone has commented yet, and as a result forms the first comment. Strangely it is actually Russ writing it, so the question is, who is really making the comment!? Did you find some food stevie baby?
7th November 2008

Welcome to the southern hemisphere. It's better down here anyway! Jeff P.S. Is it Australia that normally use a funny upside down inside out map of the world?
17th November 2008

Upside down?
Seeing as this is your "home-hemisphere" shouldn't you think of this as the right way up? I've seen a few mad-maps, but most use the traditionaly view! It sure is a lot warmer down here, and most people are a lot friendlier! Are you missing wintry England at all yet?

Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0895s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb