Written on the train


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Perth » Perth City
November 19th 2006
Published: November 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

So, my first time on a train. Pretty cool so far. A lot better than the plane, thats for damned sure. More space, room to move around. Things to look at, I guess. Flat land with gum trees and sparse farm animals don't really do it for me. Probably because I come from the prairies. Danielle and I met a couple girls who are also from Canada. They were in front of us in the line for food, and they heard us talking. They're from Ontario. Our accent is hilarious, guys. After not hearing it for awhile, and hearing these girls, it was funny. They told us to make sure we go to Melbourne.
The train is packed! I wasn't expecting that at all. There's a lot of younger people (backpackers too, maybe?) in our car. Maybe it was planned that way, so we don't disturb the old folks. The food so far is not fantastic. I had a ham and cheese sandwich. How do you mess up a ham and cheese sandwich???
I really hope this workstay is fantastic. I'm a bit worried. Not worried like 'Oh hell, what have I done?!' I guess just apprehensive.
(Also, gross! People keep belching on this train! Honestly, its happened twice now, and I am appalled! I hope its not the Canadians!)
Anyway, I'm really hoping to have a great time, wherever we end up. Hopefully somewhere far out, where we need to get flown in! Or some mining place. Then, less females! And that = yay!
Its getting dark out. So that eliminates the option of watching the scenery. Its a 39 hour ride to Perth. I wish we could have flown....
Packing was a bit of a shit show. I left stuff at my moms, but I still had a hard time fitting everything in my backpack.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb