The Killer Snake!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Margaret River
October 8th 2012
Published: October 11th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Since I have been in Australia, I've kept my work colleagues amused with my stupid questions about snakes. Before I headed up to the Blue Mountains to go walking I asked David what to do if I saw a snake. I was actually serious - do I run? Do I stay still? David thought this was the funniest thing he'd ever heard. As it happens, we never left the pavement so it wasn't a concern. However I have raised this again with a number of people, who have all been too busy laughing and telling me I'll never see one to actually give me an answer. Finally I came across one colleague, a farm girl like myself, who paused from her laughter to tell me that I should run. At last, an answer! Yet when the fateful moment came, this is exactly the opposite of what happened.

I had to work in Perth for a week, so obviously an opportunity ripe to take advantage of for my own personal wanderlust and the serious study of wine appreciation. The Saturday beforehand a work friend and I arrived in Perth, hired a car, and drove down to one of Western Australia's famous wine growing areas, Margaret River, best known for its big, bold, fruity reds. We drove 3 hours south, to a small town called Busselton. On one side, Busselton has a seemingly endless coastline and stunning views out across the Indian Ocean. Inland is the true magic though, as only a few minutes drive away are dozens of vineyards. It's a very scenic spot.

After an early start, a long 4 1/2 hour plane trip proving to me just how big Australia is from one side to the other, then a three hour drive to reach our hotel for the evening, we arrived completely exhausted. However after so many hours on our butts it was also time to get moving, so first up was a walk down the beach. It's a gorgeous beach, with white sand, turquoise water and a gorgeous view. We then discovered that Busselton is famous for its jetty, which at nearly 2km long, is the longest in the southern hemisphere, so we headed into town and out on to the jetty. Although a glorious day, with no clouds and endless sunshine, there was a stiff ocean breeze at the end of the jetty at 2km out on the ocean, which certainly helped blow away some of the travel cobwebs. Given we'd also gained three hours thanks to daylight savings time, we still had plenty of time to get back to our coastal accommodation and enjoy the west coast sunset.

The next day was the main event. We didn't have a clear agenda in mind, but you needn't travel far to stumble across a vineyard. We visited a number of cellar doors, all located in idyllic settings, boasting an impressive array of wines and an assortment of prestigious medals. It was very hard to tear ourselves away at times, but there was more wine to be sampled and no one can say we're not conscientious. From memory, we visited Deep Woods Estate; Swooping Magpie; Swings and Roundabouts; and House of Cards. To keep things interesting we also discovered a specialty chocolate maker, Gabriel chocolate. Well, as a responsible driver it was only right that I put some food in my stomach.

In keeping with union regulations, we eventually allowed ourselves a short break at Wills Domain, where we sat on the terrace overlooking the Gunyulgup Valley, enjoying a beautiful lunch, before setting off on the homeward stretch back towards Perth in readiness for the week.

We set off, but resisting work and reality for a little longer, we randomly took one final diversion from the main road, ending up at Capel Vale. It's another vineyard with award winning vines set amongst a stunning vineyard. And this is where I saw my first snake in the wild.

Debbie was still inside, finalising payment for yet more wine that we don't know how we'll fit in our bags, while I was taking my purchases to the car. As I walking to the car I looked down, and noticed a strange looking worm...or so I thought. I peered closer to the "worm", then noticed it had a scaly skin and its head was shaped just like a snake's.... I also realised that it was too big to be a worm. At this point I was starting to think that maybe it was a little snake. Instead of running, or even being very wary at all, I got even closer, curious to discover what this strange creature might be. And then I realised with mounting excitement that this was it! This was a (baby) snake in the wild!

Everybody says that they are more scared of you then you are of them, and in that moment I finally understood as the poor little thing tried to make its escape. If there were any lingering reservations about what it was, as soon as he darted off, his snake-like slithering removed any doubt. Annoyingly Debbie still hadn't arrived back at the car, so I couldn't get any external verification. But then I remembered my iPhone, so I whipped it out, and believe it or not I took a step closer to get a better shot. It darted off, slithering surprisingly speedily, and I proudly showed my discovery on the camera to Debbie. Disappointingly, her first words were, "is that a worm?" and then on my indignant response that it was a vicious snake, she laughed and laughed. In my story, which I'm sticking to, it was a close encounter with a potential "killer snake" - even Debbie suggested it may have been a very tiny brown snake - so in the retelling it will only get bigger and more deadly. At the very least it's provided some Australians with a little light relief.

It was always going to be hard for Perth to compete - the Margaret River had offered wine, chocolate and the thrill of a killer snake. Not to mention I was based in Perth for work and not sight-seeing. However for the next week Perth tried to put up a good fight. Apparently while I was in an internal airless and windowless room being bombarded with emails and phone calls, the sun was shining and the weather was perfect. However in my rare forays outside the fortress I was surprised to discover how windy it was. Although it was supposed to be 28 degrees one day and 30 degrees the next, it certainly didn't feel like it. One of my colleagues told me that it's the fourth windiest city in the world however in the summer time you are grateful for the wind, known as the Freemantle doctor, keeping you cool.

We did make it out to a beach one evening for dinner with some other work colleagues. Called City Beach (Perth - you are all imagination), it's stunning, and we arrived just in time to see the sun go down over the Indian Ocean. Coupled with a delicious glass of Margaret River red wine, this should be the antidote to every stressful day. Although what am I complaining about, I'm heading home, where I guess I'll have to make do with my view of the Sydney Harbour Bridge and the Opera House. It's not a bad life after all.


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

At Deep Woods vineyard, looking towards Block 7At Deep Woods vineyard, looking towards Block 7
At Deep Woods vineyard, looking towards Block 7

I brought a little piece of this home with me, the Block 7 Shiraz was delicious.
Building in PerthBuilding in Perth
Building in Perth

I think this is the Civic Building, but it reminded me a lot of Calendar Girls in Auckland, with its changing colours!


11th October 2012

Scuse me while I stop laughing!
I LOVE this blog, my hometown, my turf... I sorta never run from snakes, especially ahm, baby ones..we understand you foreigners sometimes do this but yes, they are more afraid of you than anything. The only australian snake that will actively go for you is a Taipan, of which there are none in WA. IF by chance you end up with a snake on you then never ever run..just let it slither across you, it will go about its business and Debbie can probably give you something to stop screaming. Ahh yes the wind, lovely isnt it :-)
11th October 2012

Thanks! At last a sensible answer. Although the thought of a snake slithering over me brings me out in a very cold sweat, should this ever happen I will keep your advise in mind!
11th October 2012
The long jetty at Busselton

gorgeous photo! that part of the west coast is simply stunning :)
12th October 2012
The long jetty at Busselton

Yes, you're right, it's a gorgeous part of the country. I wasn't only lured by the wine!
12th October 2012

Work junket
It would have been wrong of you to not take advantage of a work funded trip to have a side adventure - glad you survived! Well written & nice photos :-)
12th October 2012

Thanks Jo. As a fellow kiwi you will appreciate the bravery involved in me vs the snake!
13th October 2012

Proud of you
You drank enough wine...to nearly wrestle a baby brown snake...they're poisonous you know!
13th October 2012

I think I was pretty safe from whatever it was...it was so tiny I'm not sure it could have sunk its fangs into anything!

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0556s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb