My Dolphin Encounter


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Mandurah
April 8th 2008
Published: April 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hey readers! Today started with a race. Me, against the clouds. I had a slightly earlier start than most days as i made my way on the train to Mandurah, which is around 50km south of Perth. The guidebook suggested going there so i did. Now i have to admit, my first impressions having travelled for an hour were not overly impressive, however they were quickly changed. From the train station i made my way by courtesy bus to the foreshore area where things immediately began to perk up. I quickly found the board walk, around the harbour past some cool cafes etc, yes more cool cafes, before finding the madurah marina.

Mandurah marina...well its a very swich place, lots of nice apartment buildings etc, as well as a cool indoor market of gifts etc and a couple of very swish, and almost definitely beyond me restuaraunts! This is definitely where all the money is going, as proven by the boats on sale, some for up to a quarter of a million...for a small boat, rediculous! I sat up on the breakwater and had an early lunch, nothing impressive before hitting the long beach, which i think is actually its name! Got the boardies on, towel out and hit the water. I was located marina end of the beach slightly sheltered by the breakwater, and with a slight sandbank about 30m out giving me a cool little lagoon type swimming spot, the water was lovely!

Had a bit of a sunabathe session and also read some more of the hobbit before my dolphin encounter. Oh at this point i should add I got a little burnt on top of my chest and upper back, turns out i missed two spots! So back to my encounter, well this wasnt one of those rediculously priced things where you get to swim with a dolphin or whatever. I was merely having a swim, fairly shallow when all of about 5m away appears this dolphin. Knowing that it wouldnt come any closer, I rushed out to get the camera and try and get a couple of pics. It seemed to be having a fun time catching a few smaller fish and riding the waves into the beach. Was pretty cool, and even a local came up and commented on how "sick" it was as they dont normally come so close.

I left mandurah at about 3 and headed back into perth as i was on a mission. Regular readers will be aware of my ipod woes, and so today was the day i decided to buy a new one, whilst i still had a chance to put some music on it! Many thanks for Grandma for the money she gave me this week, could not have come at a better time! I hit a big department store, asked to buy one, only to be told(after a search) they were all out of the one i wanted. However, they suggested a place I try. Eventually found it and same story, and another new lead. Again, same story, but "did you try duty free, most people forget"! Perth kindly has a duty free shop in the centre so in I went and YES, they had not one, but five left! (only bought one though, obviously). Added bonus I can claim $50 tax back when i leave the country, woo! At this point, Mum, my cash card works!!

New toy in hand, I headed home ready for a swim and tea, lovely pork chops and chicken kebabs, happy times! Think i might have some cereal in a minute as well, making the most of having a kitchen nearby!! Didnt see the most amazing things today, though the dolphin was definitely cool, and to be honest it was quite cool watching things go by when on the train, and seeing some amazing views of Perth and the surrounding water sides. Over and out!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



8th April 2008

fishy friend
OMG as if u saw a dolphin in the sea with u! Why didnt u stroke it?? amazing!!! take it u got an ipod touch!??? bet u are much happier with some tunes! x
9th April 2008

as if you came that close to a dolphin-i am impressed. i'm sure if it had of been me, i may had of been a tiny bit scared! cool to hear you've got a new ipod. what kind is it? miss you bro!x

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0624s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb