What the Hell is Going On?


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Leinster
September 26th 2007
Published: September 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

For the precious few of you that haven't had to sit through the agonizing months of 'do I, don't I' decision making and might now be wondering WHAT the hell is going on....

The boyo is going to Ghana for work. His stints are stupidly long and after a year of doing the fly in/fly out, seeya next month thing, being apart just doesn't appeal. On that basis I'm going too. Obviously we are still in the disgusting phase of our relationship!

Ghana is in West Africa, between the Ivory Coast and Togo, below Burkino Faso and fronting onto the Atlantic Ocean. I feel the urge to clarify this because a miner I was talking to asked if it was a mine in the Northern Territory.

We will be based in Tarkwa, the town closest to the mine the boyo will be building stuff on. If you want further details on the 'stuff', talk to him, I don't get any more technical than that! As a mining town it doesn't rank on the top ten tourist destinations and its been hard finding information on the place. However, thanks to the wonder that is Thorn Tree Travel Forum (and a random bicycle riding man), I have discovered it's dusty and the local play area is called "Cyanide Park". Sounds promising.

Weirdly, the company that runs the gold mine just up the road from here also runs the Tarkwa gold mine, the biggest in Ghana. I guess that makes them responsible for cyanide park - someone wasn't taking time and taking charge. (This is the safety slogan BHPB touts as its weapon of zero harm. When I did my 'Take Time, Take Charge' training the instructor used said it 45 times in an hour. It'll be going on my list of things I won't miss.)

My job in Ghana is to keep Az's beers cold and keep studying for my degree via the internet. This is why getting reliable net access is my biggest worry, though it may prove to be a boon in ridiculous-why-my-assignment-is-late excuses... Also how to feed my growing Facebook addiction?!

I feel bad about this. Relative to starving or dying of a preventable disease, web access is a pretty puny thing to worry about. So I'm just going have to put my hand up and confess right now; I am a bloated westerner with no sense of priority. I'm not a gap year baby or anything close to it, I just want to wake up next to my boy every morning and laugh myself back to sleep as he heads off to work. Bear it in mind.




Advertisement



26th September 2007

Core blind me!!
Ain't no way your stone is gathering moss!! Keep the stone rolling. Really happy for you 2 to go forth and conquer!! Will miss the bonding times over the core we had!! And will be exciting ready you blogs..

Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 69; dbt: 0.075s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb