Day 26 – Mitchell Plateau


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Kimberley
May 23rd 2018
Published: May 23rd 2018
Edit Blog Post

We are miraculously on schedule and it seems that Wilko, Brooksie and I will be able to get the car back from Broome (I just need 4 wheel nuts, a new rim would be good but I have a spare).



When we arrived last night the campground was chockers which is bad. As I’ve discussed with Adam choosing campsites is an artform. Don’t choose the first camp area, look for things that might turn people off. For instance the “Generators Allowed” camping area at Mitchell Falls. So it seems that every would be camper makes the assumption that past this sign there will be 500 campers happily running their generators. Actually there was one couple in a tent, admittedly they were wearing matching wife beater t shirts and she had black tights. They also had a dog which looked like a dingo which on reflection is the perfect way of camping with your dog in National Parks. If the ranger comes along you just say “he’s not with me”.



We set out on the 8k walk to the falls stopping at Little Merton Falls and Big Merton Falls (not sure who Merton was!). The Mitchell Falls are amazing. They are the best falls I have seen in Australia. They are a combination of 4 falls. We walked carefully through the top pool for a spectacular view of the whole thing.



On the way back the sole on my hiking boots started to come off. Some of you may recall that this happened at Uluru and that was when I had developed the WWWD concept. On that occasion I super glued them. Becs is very concerned that I didn’t just buy a new pair but these are my first hiking boots so there is a lot of history. They walked through Tuscany, Japan, the US, all through Australia, Sicily, Crete, Lapland so they have enormous sentimental value. When I told Becs she just rolled her eyes and started walking faster so that I was flopping along behind. We had lunch at Little Merton and had a swim. It was then I had the brilliant idea of using the glad wrap from our sandwiches to tie up the soles of my boot. Worked a treat. I told Becs it could be a long term fix. She rolled her eyes. As we walked back we ran into Greg. Now he’s been a good guy but now I’m starting to think “Wolf Creek” (and we don’t even get there for 6 days).



We spend the afternoon chilling out writing the blog and reading and now I’m getting my last beer. I hope we find beer soon!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.163s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0701s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb