Freo to Busselton


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Fremantle
September 21st 2007
Published: September 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Sailing Freo to Busselton


Additional maps: Exmouth and Ningaloo Reef

Hi there - The last week has been busy delivering the boat I've been sailing on from Fremantle (Freo in Aussie speak) to Busselton about 120 miles south. It was good chance to catch on some of the sail time I've missed (due to bad weather). Since it was just me and an instructor (with one extra crew on one day), I got some skippering time, passage planning/nav experience and lots of helm time. It was good experience, good wind with the occasional heavier stuff, big swells and squalls - but that's just an average day this time of year. At least with all the rain, there are lots of rainbows!

I've included the photos I mentioned in the last blog in which I attempted to catch the whales - one flipper wave and a shot of bubbles as our bow whale dipped below the surface. My Australian wild-life experience was completed yesterday as I was getting a car ride back to Bunbury and we saw a kangaroo hop across the road - my first "wild" kangaroo sighting. Nothing unusual to the locals. It sounds like they're as common as deer back home.

Having caught up a bit on the sailing miles, I'm off to Exmouth tomorrow after all. It's about 1000 km north, warm, and good snorkeling. Definitely looking forward to a chance to thaw and dry out. No sailing, so it'll just be a chance to take a break. Here's a link to a map.

I hope life back home is good for you!

Deirdre




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0405s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb