Fremantle - if you can sail here...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Fremantle
September 15th 2007
Published: September 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hi - It's been some time since I've written. Sorry for the radio silence. The weather here has been crazy and unpredictable. On a two-day sail, the first was so calm and sunny that we had to motor the whole day (however, we saw humpback whales, and one even swam under the bow!). The next day was stormy with big wind, swells and rain. After arriving in Fremantle, the gale force warning was in and we couldn't even stick our nose out of the harbor. Oh well, Fremantle is a nice town to be stuck in. The Fremantle Sailing Club facilities are very nice. The town has the feel of a college town with little cottages and tiny front gardens full of flowers and little shops everywhere. Quite a difference from Bunbury where I was based the last few weeks.

For the last 2 days, I crewed for a more advanced student preparing for his yachtmaster exam (a 10-12 hour marathon of passage making, sailing, drills, and oral defense all at the same time!). The exam was supposed to be today and the weather prediction was great as of yesterday (as in good wind, but not dangerous). Well, this morning that all changed when the wind, swells and squalls came back and the exam has been postponed for about 2 months. Needless to say, the student was pretty bummed, but he knew the conditions weren't safe and said so to the examiner (the correct answer to the examiner's first question). The examiner hung around the boat and talked to the student and crew about the YM exams and what he and the RYA (Royal Yachting Association) are looking for. That was very helpful.

I've been a bit concerned about the quality of my training here and had a heart-to-heart chat with the school's owner. As a result, I've canceled my trip to Exmouth and Ningaloo reef up north in order to stay in southwest Australia for more hands-on-the-helm/chart training. I don't want to find myself in Gibraltar trying to play catch-up in miles and training.

Sorry I don't have any photos for this blog entry, but I happened upon an internet cafe and don't have my memory stick with me. Not a big deal, my photos of the whales are just splashes after the fin, tail or barnacled snout went back under the gorgeous blue water.

I hope you're doing well back home! Take care,

Deirdre

Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0501s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb