Swimming with Whale Sharks


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Exmouth
June 11th 2006
Published: June 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Looking coolio in wet suit and sunniesLooking coolio in wet suit and sunniesLooking coolio in wet suit and sunnies

getting ready to meet Mr Whale Shark!
Yesterday I had one of the most amazing experiences of my life so far. Swimming with Whale Sharks - the world's largest fish. They are of course totally harmless (otheriwse I wouldn't have done it!) - unlike all other sharks they aren't meat eaters they feed on Plankton and Krill - like whales. How it works is that a spotter plane is flying above the ocean and will radio in the position of a whale shark and which way it is heading. Your boat then moves into a position to intercept the whale shark, dumps you in the water to wait for it to pass you and then you swim on with it for a few minutes before the boat picks you up and that process starts all over again. The first couple of times we were in the water, there was a fair amount of confusion really as to where the Whale Shark was and so I didn't notice it until it was swimming past us and so I had to try and swim to catch up with him. However the third time we went in I was wise to it. Just got in the water and kept still. Just
A Whale SharkA Whale SharkA Whale Shark

but obviouly not a real one!
looking for where it was coming from. And then I saw him, swimming right towards me. And I just froze, not from being scared but because I was just awe-struck. He was massive - almost 20 feet long and just looked amazing - his mouth was huge! After I swum out of his way I managed to swim alongside him, keeping up with his head and managed to watch him open his mouth to feed. It was just fantastic. The next few times I did the same thing, kept still and found him swimming in my direction! It was a mind-blowing experience.

But anyway, I think i've bored everyone enough about that, last night was England - glad they won of course, performance could have been a lot better but we don't want to hit form to early do we! Save the best for the final!

Advertisement



16th June 2006

2:0
England 2 nil!!!!! Peter Crouch cracked an amazing header it was awesome, the whole street went wild! Then Gerrard scored a fantastic goal, even i know that!!! Soooo, umm speak 2 ya soon Beckie :-)

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0292s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1020.2kb