South West Oz - An organized tour


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Esperance
August 5th 2006
Published: August 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

This is the tale of my trip to the SouthWest of Western Australia.

I really didn't know what to expect out of the "organized" trips many
of the tour companies offer. I was put off by the fact that you see
heaps of places but you don't "really" see any one place. Since I
Wouldn't see much of Western Australia without doing one of these tours
I said what the hell... I choose a shorter 5 day trip south of Perth
to Esperance, Albany, Pemberton and Margaret River. Booked it through
Perth City YHA with a company called "Western Exposure".

The first day was a bit dull, but that was because its 800 km's from
Perth to Esperance. We split up the day with the town of "York" (not bad
for a pit stop but it didn't get me excited), a dog cementry and Wave Rock (also a rock that looks like a hippo :-))

I wasn't sure how the meals would be organized/prepared on these tours. We only had one guide (operator) and they couldn't possibly make all the meals and do all the driving (often 8 hours a day). The group makes the meals (with the instruction of the guide) which was perfect for me. Maybe you are looking for a tour that does everything to pamper you but not me. I don't even like to have someone else pump my own gas/Petrol.

Soon I found the group was great, and the first night a group of us were
having some beers, and playing pool in the hostel. Everyone; even if they are with a partner are in the same situation so its not hard to meet people.

Cape le Grand National Park was nothing short of beautiful (and I don't use that word lightly). We got some great weather and weren't disappointed. We did a short hike (1.5 hour return) up "Frenchman's Peak" (coming from CanadaI wouldn't call it a mountain) but the view of the surrounding bays was awesome. Then we went down to some of the beaches. The finest white sand I have seen anywhere (and I've seen many of Oz's beaches already). Went for quick, cold but very refreshing swim. Toured all around Esperance... visiting the "Lake formerly known as Pink Lake" and their resident "Wind Farms" which are very cool since we don't have any back home. One thing I must say about this tour so far... you don't waste any time... you get up at 6 and don't usually
arrive back in the next hostel till 6 that evening.

To be continued......



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0344s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb