Last days at the Station


Advertisement
Published: March 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

AlixAlixAlix

Helping with the gardening
After being picked from the roadhouse the night before. It quite nise to be back at Middalya. All the kids had had a great time while they had been away, all the adults were pretty much knackered. But everyone was pleased to be back.

Over the next week I spent most of my time doing the gardening or cleaning cars as well my normal jobs. The weather was still hot, well above 40 degrees. Also there was a cyclone building in the north, that was heading west out to sea and then expected to turn and come back down the west coast. This could cause problems. so from the weekend onwards there was constant checking what the weather forcast was up to, and what the predictions were for the cyclone. By Tuesday the cyclone was still following the path that had been predicted. Which would mean that Middalya was in it's path. So,in all likelyhood the station would be cut by flood water that would come with the cyclone. So they were preparing to batten down the hatchs.

As I was suppose to be meeting Richie down in Perth the following week. It was decided that I should head down before the cyclone hit and I ended up stuck there. So after a phone call to Greyhound to check that the bus would still be running the following evening, I would be heading down to Perth a week earlier than expected.

Up untill about five hours before the bus came the cyclone was heading on its predicted route down the west coast. Then at the last minute turned at a right angle and headed in land in stead. Still I was lucky that a bus would be coming as the south bound bus had been stopped up in Broome. Fortunatley the north bound bus was only coming up as far as Minilya Roadhouse before turning around and heading south.

When the cyclone George hit the coast at port headland it was a catagory 4. It caused some pretty severe damage, before it deflated as it headed inland.

Anyway the most I saw of it was the cloud patterns in the sky. Which were pretty cool. Apart from that it was pretty unadventful 15 hour bus journey back to Perth.

Advertisement



28th April 2007

I'm coming to find you......
You've inspired me so much that I'm coming to find you, well kind of!! Put a pic of Jesse on your blog, I want to see your new best friend and home for the next few months! Miss you Zo, love Vicky

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 68; dbt: 0.0465s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb