Getting "away from it all" ..... literally


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Broome
September 13th 2009
Published: September 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

abSDC15761opabSDC15761opabSDC15761op

I'd occasionally have a break when I worked at night. I'd pull up outside and sit on the internet for a bit before going back out on the road.
Three months of taxi driving is enough to send anyone to the loony bin and especially when you drive at night. A lot has happened since my last entry and I decided to arrive back in Broome in May ...... or June. One of those. I was straight in to a taxi and working five nights a week and now I am on an "if I feel like it" basis which is really nice although I never actually do feel like it. The two nights I recently spent up at James Prices Point were magnificent and has made me hope even more that the idiot that somehow became the premier of Western Australia doesn't build a LNG hub there. They've already destroyed Broome ...... at least let the peninsula remain! The fact that there is NOTHING up there is what attracts me! There were three people that I encountered over the two days I was there and even that was too many ..........

I'd like to remind the people who like to check back every now and then that it probably would be a good idea to subscribe seeing as I don't update regularly.

So, enjoy the photos.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

opop
op

This sign is at the start of Cape Leveque road, which is 9km out of Broome
opop
op

This is where Manari Road intersects with the Cape Leveque road.
opop
op

Manari road can be really good at times and as rough as guts at other times
opop
op

Behind the dunes up at James Prices Point is a little track which joins many great camping spots and also forces one to let their tyres down. The vegetation is also very thick.
opop
op

This was a top campsite. There was shade almost all day.
opop
op

4WD only. That's how I like it!
opop
op

Yep, bogged again. I guess I'm letting my tyres down more ......
opop
op

James Prices Point looking south
opop
op

The Shire have provided bins at certain points around the peninsula.It's good to see that most people use these.
opop
op

Pumping up my tyres at BP Central in Broome


Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0666s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb