Leaving Broome......finally


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Broome
August 22nd 2009
Published: August 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

So....after 7 weeks working here in Broome I am finally outta here!!!!! I leave this afternoon on a flight to Perth. I am staying with Ciara for a few nights, one of the Irish girlies I met on the first Red Safari Tour. She's fab and invited me to stay at her place until a fly to Asia on Tuesday. She has a HOUSE!!!!. I cannot tell you how nice it will be to stay in a house with only 4 people, Bliss!!!! I'm looking forward to a couple of good nights sleep too!
Left work yesterday (Friday), it was such a relief, especially knowing that I don;t need to stress about money for a while. I am using all my wages to pay for the Asia trip. I'm spending 5 weeks in Malaysia / Thailand / Vietnam / Laos and poss Cambodia if I get time. Flying into Kuala Lumpar and having a few nights on my own before I get the train (24hours) to Bangkok to meet Joe who I met in the hostel in Perth. He is travelling round there so I though it makes sense to go meet him rather than risk travelling on my own. I had my vaccinations last week here in Oz and still have the bruises on my arms!!! I have to have another Hep B jab in Asia too which I am a bit worried about.........

So I'mleaving my friends here in Broome to work a little longer and start my travelling all over again, its getting exciting again now. Been a fit fed up the last few weeks. I had a cold that wouldn't shift and constantly tired after not getting enough sleep and working. Hopefully I will feel better when I have slept a full night!!! Just one full night sleep....please!!!!!!!! The flights to Asia were realy cheap, I got a RETURN flight to Kuala Lumpar in Malaysia for 140 quid and the flight from Broome to Perth was 130 quid. I cannot wait for the cheap accommodation / food / travelling in Asia. The train from KL to Bangkok is something like 18 quid (24 hour journey). I will then fly back to Oz and make my way down the East Coast and probably head home in December. Its really heating up here now as it approaches their summer (wet season), the air conditioning is broken in the hostel so I'm glad to get out of there as it has been really warm the last week and I was starting to cook at night in my little bunkbed!!! In 7/8 weeks here in Broome I have seen about 2 clouds, so looking forward to a change of weather I think, surprisingly??? Maybe I will regret that when its freezing tomorrow. At least there is no more " Ground Hog Day" in Broome!! Yippeeeee.

Not much else to tell really, just been working really and trying to spend as little as possible, although I did splurge a little this week and went for a coffee and a scone and we went for a meal on Weds as I was leaving and I ordered risotto for $25!!!! Ended up sending it back though after one mouth full as it was like dishwater / soggy porridge. Oh and MacDonald's last night (big mac meal if anyone is interested) was also an extravagance!!!

I will write again once in Asia... gotta go and finish packing now for my flight. Its really funny as it is about a 5 minute walk to the airport you can see it across the road from the hostel. That's how small this place is. I have bought a jumper and a scarf this week for Perth as I have nothing apart from 1 jumper with long sleeves!!!!! I think will need another as I have now adjusted to the 30 degree heat here and I think its about 16 in Perth right now brrrrrrrrrrrr!!!. Hope you are all getting some nice weather :-)

Bye for now xxxxxxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement



22nd August 2009

Be Careful!
Hi Jane - Good day Mate! Thought with it being the last time i would be able to fit that in for 5 weeks i would include it. Ha! HA! Your off again - at last! I think you could of been a official travel rep for things to see snd do in Broome. It's back to Perth were you began and then off to Asia - it sounds scary dosn't it? Please try to be careful over there. The culture and everything is going to be so different. Not sure i'm keen on the 24hour train journey alone - so make sure you keep a eye on your belongings! Please listen to Deb Deb!!! But at least after the train journey you have a friend back to see and do everything that Asia has to offer - Kula Lumpa sounds very intriging - whats there? And hopefully your money will go a lot further. Still loving the piccies and even though you have been missing home you still look like your having a really good time. It will be funny when you return home and read back through this blog - it's like a online diary! I want to do one!!! Only problem is i'm going nowhere. I still have a number of people asking about you and how your doing. Darren (from next door) was asking how you was yesterday and said he wouldn't of minded coming with you. The old gang is still missing you also. It will be good to catch up and see you in person when you return. I'll count down the months - ha! ha! I would fill you in on all the ongoings over here in crappy Wigan - but i have absoultly nothing to report. The weather is shite. Nobody has been up to anything. I've just had a weeks holiday and done nothing but spring clean and decorate - that is how sad and pathetic i am! So you go and have fun for the rest of us. Take care and be careful! Deb xxxxxx

Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0229s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb