Broome, WA


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Broome
July 25th 2019
Published: July 31st 2019
Edit Blog Post

So tonight was a first. Had to dry myself, after a shower, with my dirty clothes. Outside of the boxers for head and face and the inside of the shorts for the remainder. No, I was not out bush short of clothes, nor was there an emergency. I was simply too lazy to walk back to the camp (60m) to get the towel I forgot. No doubt Bear Grylls would have fashioned a towel out of a local crocodile and a twig (or was that McGyver) but I was too tired to bother. Suz is not amused. Or is she. I'll hear later on, no doubt.

Today saw a thing we have not seen for a while - bitumen. "Oh tarmac how I love thee". After weeks of corrugations to have 70km odd of bitumen was great! Except my damn compressor blew four fuses doing the last tyre up. Grrrr. Tony to the rescue, with a wry smile suggesting (incorrectly) that the Pajero is failing more than the Nissans.

We are lodged for two nights at the Broome Caravan Park (efficient name). Nothing fancy but we do have power, washing facilities and are close to town. Nothing much exciting going on for us as we are stocking up for the next step out to Cape Leveque.

The town seems very hospitable. A really good feel to it. We stocked up on food, grog and diesel and various spare parts to fix this, that and the other. The kids utilised the pool while I took the opportunity to clean out the entire trailer. A bit of clothes shopping to replace the shirts that Nath had destroyed and that was about it. A nice BBQ for dinner on the second night and an early nights' sleep for the trip up the cape.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 12; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0915s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb