Bibbulmun Track


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Albany
March 17th 2007
Published: March 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I think I've become a pilgrim junky?!? Well OK the Bibbulmun isn't really anything like its Spanish brethren - no religious relics, bugger all churches, no menu del dia, no lisping Spanards & barely a German or Frenchman in sight. However, it does resemble the metaphorical journey one takes. A little like eating too much fibre - a little painful at times, but it makes you feel all cleansed & virtuous at the end of it. Walking 1000km can have that effect on you - that's why Lusty & I have chosen the 'soft' option & are probably only going to complete about 100km - if we're lucky!

The purist Bibbulmunist, would start somewhere just north east of Perth. Pack loaded with camping & cooking gear & steadying themselves for a journey that will take about 5 weeks on foot to Albany, stopping at rudimentary campsites on the way, communing with nature & fellow Bibbulmunists.

Never one to stick to the rule book, Lusty & I are jumping on a bus directly to Albany - clap thy hands, genuflect - job done - that deserves a cleansing beer in itself doesn't it? Well, we're actually attempting the Reader Digest condensed index version. Bus into town, stay at cheap accommodation - have a 'track service' deliver us to an unknown destination out of town, then we have to find our way back into town for us to enjoy our own version of menu del dia y cerveza o vino.

The major towns we'll be visiting are: Albany, Denmark (town not country), Walpole, Pemberton & Margaret River. Sights to be seen along the way: sweeping vistas of the Great Southern Ocean, towering Karri forests, devine Jarrah forests, explorer socks at the high end of stench, slung over the end of bunks in sweaty dorm rooms of cheap accommodation - yes I'm painting a great word picture... and I'll bring it to you blow by blow (need to find another expression that expresses that particular phrase in a more lady like manner:/).

The most challenging part of the journey so far (from my cushy ezy-chair here in Melbourne) is the pronunciation of Bibbulmun. Lesson 1: Bib - ul (as in dull) - mun (as in how a Jamacan would say man). I don't perceive there to be too many hardships to endure on this trip - except perhaps the dreaded 'Red-Eye' return flight from Perth (I'm shuddering & my eyes are tearing up as I type!).

I head off early Sunday morning ... so until my next instalment - who knows whether the world wide web has made it to south-west Western Australia yet - I'm going forth to investigate.

Anyone interested in viewing the Bibbulmun Track from a marketer's point of view can go to www.bibbulmuntrack.org.au.

Adios amigos
See ya when I'm lookin' at ya!

Lusty & the G-meister

PS - for the uninitiated - Lusty is one of my old school buddies - her real name is Lustrous Arse & mine is Runny Grain - these names have been condensed/modified over the years & I think they're the better for it!

Advertisement



16th March 2007

good luck girls
have a great time dont kill each other and toots dont forget about my 5 bucks ! i will see you when you get back rock on you spunky things love heuster.

Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 64; dbt: 0.0631s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb