I don't want to leave Colbinabbin!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria
March 11th 2008
Published: March 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I love it here...I really do. We leave in about 2 and a half weeks, which just doesn't bear thinking about.

The last few weeks have been good - I have been very accident prone however, and they let me loose with a chipper at work to do some weeding with Heather and Simone. Bad move! The water pipe on the wall seemed to somehow get in the way of the weeds...haha...and unfortunately it was the pipe for the factory's water tank....and yes we are in a drought! Oops. In addition, I have smashed the red scraper on the floor and also have snapped the handle off the broom....I am surprised I still have a job!

There seems to be never ending parties in our house these days....alas I am feeling old and tired and more interested in reading my new book haha.

It's Gillian's birthday today, and I made her a rocky road marshmallow thing.

We got up ready for work on Sunday, only to be texted by Damien and told that the pickers hadn't turned up (hee hee) so we got the day off...so I went into Bendigo and mooched around the shops.

Yesterday (Monday) was my real day off and I met up with Raph which was great, as I've really missed her since she left work. We had lunch at "Match" and then went over to Golden Square to her Mum's. LOVE her Mum, she is so cute!!! Even saw Dusty the dog - I've really missed him also since he moved out of our house!!! Was really nice to have a chilled out day with a good friend, away from the people I'm living with every day.

Our house is falling to bits at the mo - the plumbing is messed up so the toilet is blocked up and water is sitting in the shower not going down...not good! We have an outside toilet and shower, but the outside toilet has big spiders in (Huntsman spiders, so panic not, people!) and the outdoor shower has a wasps nest....it all reminds me of how I imagined people lived years ago. Small rural community, outdoor toilet....it's nice though. The little things frustrate me...slow internet connection, people not washing up their dishes after using them, not having my own car....but on the whole, I love this type of life.

Most nights I just sit and read, or play Shithead (card game) in the smoking room or outside with Elena and sometimes Gary or some of the others. Heather and I cook nice meals (tonight was chicken curry - haven't my tastes changed!) and the most I really have to worry about is if I am craving diet coke and have none. Stress free! It all seems too good to be true at the moment. Hopefully this isn't the calm before the storm!!!???!!!

We leave on March 31st (as things stand now) and I can't even imagine travelling again...stressful!!!





Advertisement



Tot: 0.306s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.219s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb