Bairnsdale 2004


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria
August 3rd 2004
Published: July 26th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Monday, 2 August 2004
I had been to Bairnsdale early on this year. On that occasion I spent a lot of my spare time looking for wild life in the local swamp.
This morning I carried my gear next door. The centre is next to the motel. I worked my way through all the rooms, doing what I could until time ran out. The children that missed being photographed will have to wait until tomorrow.
Back at the motel I trimmed twelve exposed spools of film, (results of three hours work) packed them into a box and headed off to the post office.

Tuesday, 3 August 2004
I dreaded going to work this morning, I knew it was going to be hectic.
Baby room first, soon run out of new children in that room. Into the Kindergarten room, it didn't take long to photograph the new children. More children were expected but were late arriving. Next the toddler room, they were about to have morning tea. I was asked to come back later. The session continued like that all morning. One room after another photographing late comers. As lunch time came closer and my time was running out again, I eventually managed to do some group photos and most of the portraits before the children started getting ready for lunch. Which indicated the end of my day's work.
Back at the motel I powered up the lap top, logged onto the internet and thats where I stayed for the rest of the afternoon. I'm in front of the screen for long periods in my spare time. Sometimes production is forthcoming. Today, four hours surfing the net produced zero.
It rained most of the afternoon but I'm sure the time on the net would have been the same, whatever the weather.
Meal at a different pub tonight. It was busy but the food was good.

We are now into the second half of the year and the prospect of visiting more of the same towns is starting to wear thin.
After the Christmas break I tend to forget how many places I have worked in. The new year brings a new lease of interest in my job but now that feeling is not so good. Bairnsdale, Griffith, Temora and Canberra, just to mention a few, have all been visited this year.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0272s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb