LONG DAY ON THE ROAD THEN YEA FOR TWO NIGHTS


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Wangaratta
January 20th 2015
Published: July 2nd 2017
Edit Blog Post

SamariaSamariaSamaria

Changed, with the sun room removed and a veranda put in.
Geo: -36.3537, 146.325

We arrived at Gundagi for lunch and I took over the driving after we had eaten, interresting place we had two buses of Chinese people before us and after they left a heap of Pakistani's arrived, on there way to the Cricket in Canberra.

Driving was no effort on the Hume Highway so when we arrived in Holbrook, we decided we were going well enough so why not keep going to Wangaratta, which we did.

Glutons for punishment, stuffed by the time we set up in the Caravan Park and it is 30.3o at 5.30pm, Mick still wants to cook tea and I could not be bothered, a few drinks later and I reckon I will feel better.

Which I did and heated up baked beans for tea, yum... then watched a great storm, putting out our water container which filled for us to use on the rest of the trip.

21/01/2015


Set off for Yea this morning had a good trip and called to see Samaria my old childhood home, at Homewood, a few changes but was good to see kids bikes and a Trampoline, it was home to my family of nine and I have good memories of the
MemoriesMemoriesMemories

A great place to be bought up in.
place.

We set up at the Yea Caravan Park, first time I have seen it and a very pretty place with plenty of shade, thank goodness, because it is currently 33o at the moment I am sitting in the Caravan with the air conditioner on. The owner told us to pick a site and pay later, so we parked under a nice shady tree.

Went down the street to have lunch then went for a drive to the Church we were married in 40 years ago in March. Could not come to Yea and not say hello to my parents in the lawn cemetery, still hot so bought some ice poles and went back to the park.

Looking forward to catching up with Trevor and Robyn tomorrow for lunch in Yea.




Advertisement



21st January 2015

O Marie. What memories for you. I love that wooden sign. Was it there when you all lived there. There are supposed to be more restaurants/caf?s in Yea now, that are always advertised in my "Country Style" magazine, and a craft/homewards
shop owned by a former co worker's friend of mine. Lots of love, Mary. Xxxxxx
22nd January 2015

Hi Mary,Yes the sign has always been there, it's lovely to see it still there now. Yea itself has changed as far as all the cafe's in the main street. The original Grocery Store Purcell's is still there and I wonder if that is your friend
s shop now. Lots of Love Marie and Mick

Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0552s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb