Start of the Great Ocean Road


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Torquay
May 11th 2013
Published: May 11th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Today I commenced the first leg of my journey on the Gt Ocean Road. At around 10.30am I picked up my car a little Suzuki bit like a BMW mini to look at and set off from Melbourne and headed for Geelong. Spent the afternoon here nothing amazing except some funny statues that look almost like large peg dolls. They were erected at intervals along the esplanade. I saw Jolly Pirates, life guards, bathing belles, and what looked like either an aboriginal family or it could have been African!! Not quite sure what its all about but a bit different I guess. Will have to do some research on that one. The journey to Geelong took about an hour then travelled onwards to my accommodation in Torquay!!! Haven't full explored it yet but went for a walk along the beach which was very nice, unspoilt, a bit different to Torquay in the UK though. Oooops forgot to mention mussels in garlic and wine bought off a fishing boat in Geelong, yummy!!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.235s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1487s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb