It does rain in Australia


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Apollo Bay
May 12th 2013
Published: May 12th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Second day of the Gt Ocean Road, ate a hearty breakfast and set off to Bells Beach where they hold the Ripcurl Pro surf championships apparently!! Must be true there were some pretty amazing waves there, you could see them forming quite a way out to sea. It was quite warm and the sun was shining. I watched some surfing some of them were really good going over the top of the waves and then back in front, very clever and what's more they all looked very fit, well have to have some excuse for ogling them I suppose. Next stop was Anglesea did not look much like the Anglesey in Wales but the weather was about right. By the time I got to Aireys Inlet it had just started to rain. I walked up to the lighthouse and from there you could see the start of the rock formations that this coast is renowned for. By the time I got to Lorne it was raining really hard which was a shame because it looked quite pretty. I decided to stop at the Wye river even though it was pouring by this stage, mainly because I know that area so well at home. So for those who haven't seen the wye river in Australia I will post a pic. The road wasn't too bad despite what people told me it was a bit windy in places but nothing compared to some of the roads I drove on in NZ. Arrived at Apollo Bay still raining, am staying in a motel this time it's called Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn and its really nice, everything is spotless and in very good condition, includes wifi and TV wheeee!! I feel like I've got my own little home for a couple of days. Went for a nice walk at about five o clock as it had stopped raining, I didnt think I missed much about England apart from family and friends, however the wind was fresh here this evening and it smelled of home and it was lovely.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0525s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb