A Canadian in Australia - thirty days. Days 3 and 4, the start of the Great Ocean Road


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Torquay
March 2nd 2019
Published: March 2nd 2019
Edit Blog Post

Fitzroy GardensFitzroy GardensFitzroy Gardens

Cooks Cottage
My third and final day in Melbourne was spent visiting Fitzroy Gardens as well as the nearby Treasury Gardens. Quite a tranquil place with "magnificent" elms lining the pathways, a variety of flowers and ornamental shrubs and trees native to the area. It also includes numerous points of interest including Cooks' Cottage, a scarred tree, a Fairies' tree and numerous walks down tree-lined pathways. It also includes Melbourne's oldest example of public artwork in the form of the River God Fountain. An enjoyable way to spend a few hours. Day 4 was where my journey really began as I picked up my rental and headed to Torquay, the start of the Great Ocean Road. I made it to Torquay relatively easily and after a visit to the information centre I hit the beaches. I stopped counting after 6 - Front Beach, Torquay Surf Beach, Bells Beach ( a world famous beach with world class competitions), Jan Juc Surf Beach and a few others. You could of course view the surfers at several of the beaches. Initially my intent was to hike from one beach to another along the Surf Coast Walk. I did start, but the reality of a stroll when
Fitzroy GardensFitzroy GardensFitzroy Gardens

Fairies' Tree
the temperature is 39 eventually sank in. Nah, I'll drive! Needless to say the coastal scenery was quite nice with the beaches, waves, and rocks etc. I also visited a local Analemmatic Sundial. This sundial was ornamentally constructed (see photos) and indeed it actually works(well within a half of an hour). A good day with the majority of the Great Ocean Road awaiting to be discovered.


Additional photos below
Photos: 34, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Fitzroy GardensFitzroy Gardens
Fitzroy Gardens

Scarred Tree
Fitzroy GardensFitzroy Gardens
Fitzroy Gardens

Model Tudor Village
Fitzroy GardensFitzroy Gardens
Fitzroy Gardens

Model Tudor Village
Fitzroy GardensFitzroy Gardens
Fitzroy Gardens

River God Fountain
Torquay Surf beachTorquay Surf beach
Torquay Surf beach

from Danger Point


2nd March 2019
20190302_135808

Not many peoples enjoy the place! but so beautifull
2nd March 2019
Analemmatic Sundial

wow, I am impress with that kind of art,
2nd March 2019
Analemmatic Sundial

120,000 ceramic times, very detailed, quite impessive
2nd March 2019
Fairies Tree

That tree remember me : Tree of life at Disney world.
2nd March 2019
Whites Beach

That's good, you don't need swollen foot for your type of vacation!
2nd March 2019
Whites Beach

I was thinking of Suzanne! She would not want to hear, "Dear I was bitten by a snake."
3rd March 2019

Snakes!!
Keep away from e snakes! Great swimming weather!
4th March 2019

Got my FEET wet today. Explored 3 great beaches during a cliff hike. Only 25 today@

Tot: 0.152s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 22; qc: 113; dbt: 0.1044s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb