4 day weekend


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Philip Island
November 9th 2007
Published: November 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

4 Day Weekend

It’s Melbourne Cup weekend which means that the longest horse race in Australia is being held in Flemington. This race is known as the race that stops a nation. Hey say this because it was made a State Holiday for Victoria. This means that pretty much all the stores are shut down for the day. I guess I would compare it to the activities that go on for the Indy 500.

Saturday I went shopping with Bree (grade 5 teacher) Lauren (girl I’m staying with) and another friend of theirs. We went to the mall in Melbourne which is three leaves and a million one stores that I’ve never heard of before. The only stores that I knew were Toys-R-Us, Fossil, and K-mart. Yeah odd K-mart was attached to the mall. I did find a new hat at one of the many surf stores. But it was a good socialization time, and a time for me to see the fashions of Australia.

On our way home we went through McDonalds to get a drink and it was scary because you go through the drive through the opposite way. That just isn’t something that you think about until you are faced with it. It made me laugh!!

Saturday night we went to Bree’s house to have dinner with her and her boyfriend Dano. Dano is a very free spirited man to say the least. He had fixed a roast with vegetables and potatoes in it. (Once again Thank God for Chicken) But when I got my plate there was something on it that I couldn’t tell what it was, so you know me being the picky eater that I am I had to ask what it was. I was told that it was roasted pumpkin. I guess they could tell by the look on my face that I hadn’t ever ate it before. It wasn’t bad, but then all night long I all I heard was I can’t believe you don’t eat pumpkin on your farm. They were blown away when I told them that we carve our pumpkins and then throw them out. Anyways we ended up staying up late watching movies and umm yeah we had a few drinks.

Sunday we slept in: one because we had a late night and two it was pouring down rain. This is the first major rain that I’ve seen since I’ve been here, and it just went on and on. Sunday turned into a lazy day of hanging out. Bree and Dano let me use their fun, but it was a lot better then standing along the street. By Sunday night I think I had explained everything that I could think of about Indiana to Dano.

Monday I finished my first report and got it reading to send off. I didn’t feel the greatest so I stayed in my jam jams all day. Lauren went to one of the other teacher’s hen night. So I spent my evening with Iggy (the dog). We walked down to the store and got some groceries, we watched a movie, and then we head to bed. Hanging out with Iggy makes me want a dog even more. (Take the hit Bradley)

Tuesday I got up and did my laundry. It was a beautiful day outside so Lauren said that she was going to take me for a surf. I was all for it, but not a half an hour later it was freezing. We walked a long the beach for awhile and decided against surfing. We went to a place called the Westernport Pub for lunch, and to watch the big race. I paid I did a $5 sweep and ended up with some no name horse. (Just my luck) The race was being showed on the big screen, and it went just this quick. Walk the horse around, ride gets on, walk the horse again, put the horse in the shoot, gates open. There was no 3,2,1 or gentlemen start your engines. As soon as that last horse hit the shoot they were off, and not joke 3 MINUTES later it was all over. It was crazy. But I do have to say that it does get exciting. I was told that there is no other race this long so know one get determine who is going to win because they have nothing to compare it too. So you’re really on your own when you beat on this race. Bree won one of the sweeps so we made her by drinks.

After the race we went to back to Bree and Dano’s place to hang out. There were a few of there friends there Simon, El, and their son Kyle. Kyle taught me how to kick a footy around. It’s fun, and I’m pretty good at it. (So Bradley be prepared) The boys had been out back playing music. (check out their band on my myspace page) Not really my kind of music, but they have a few songs that are ok. Anyways why the boys were not jamming I got to have a really nice conversation with the girls about what it’s like to grow up and leave home in Australia.

However, this set me up for a very over whelming conversation with Simon. Simon wanted to know what I thought of my home. When I asked him what specifically he wanted to know he said you know what your President has done. This went into an hour battle of how what the US is doing is wrong and illegal. I kindly set back and allowed the man to speak freely. I explained to him a few issues that I felt he had miss conveyed. BUT when Simon said that he thought the Americans aren’t as religious as we think we are. I knew I wasn’t going to back down on this challenge. Simon doesn’t believe that there is a God. He was just me and some man that I just met 3 hours ago standing on the front porch, and I to myself got grant me the strength to stand strong in what I know. I knew I wasn’t going to be able to change this man’s believes, but I wasn’t going to let him pin me in a corner either. About an hour and half later Simon just got up and walked away. Bree came out and told me she was amazed at what I did. She said that Simon likes to debt with people when he has been drinking, and that normally it’s the other person that has to walk away. I explained to her that it wasn’t a matter of who won or who lost it was a matter of standing up for what you believe in.

I STOOD STRONG

Well that is all for now… Will write again soon

Big plans for the weekend Diddy the gym teacher is getting married on the beach, and Relay for life is going on. Plus Lazza’s sister is coming down to stay with us too.

If you would like to help me out and doing a little something extra for Lazza please get a hold of my mom. I am collecting school supplies for her to take with her to Cambodia. I would really appreciate all your help!!!!!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0319s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb