Leaving Home


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne
February 19th 2006
Published: June 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

01 Melbourne from Above01 Melbourne from Above01 Melbourne from Above

A view of Melbourne from the sky.
Geo: -37.8143, 144.963

Finally, the day has come for me to leave Australia for my great overseas year long adventure. I have taken a year of leave without pay from work, although after some travelling I will be working in London. I feel prepared. I know I have everything that I will need, but I do wish I could take more. My bags are at the maximum allowed weight and one walk around the billiard table is the distance that I can carry it, which is a bit of a worry. May have to offload some stuff when I travel around. Saying goodbye to everyone in the last few weeks was fun and have had some great nights out, thank-you!

Just after take-off, we flew over Melbourne. I had a great view of this wonderful city on this clear day. I was leaving summer and will arrive in the middle of the British winter. I was looking forward to an amazing adventure, experiencing new cultures, eating exotic food, visiting ancient landmarks, making new friends and working in the British education system.

On the first leg to Bangkok the plane was about a quarter full, had great service on this flight and my own TV
02 Melbourne from Above02 Melbourne from Above02 Melbourne from Above

A view of Melbourne from the sky.
screen. I watched a movie called Shopgirl - an hour and a half of my time wasted, it was boring. On the next flight to London I will watch a comedy. The rest of the trip I lay across a few seats and got some sleep. Bangkok airport was crazy and humid. It was very busy. I got to the right gate with 15 minutes to spare. This plane was full and I didn't have my own TV screen. Ripped off! After a meal, I had a great long nap - we must nearly be there I thought. Wrong only half way through the 12 hour flight. Too bloody long. I am in no rush to come home and do this long flight for a while!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 16; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0541s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb