I am home now...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne
October 13th 2006
Published: October 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone

I arrived home safely on Friday 13th which was a feat in itself! My very special friend Leanne picked me up at the airport. It was great to see her and her little boy Riley and I was not feeling too jetlagged after upgrading to business class from Auckland to Melbourne so I could get a little sleep!

I found before me a house full of balloons and a big surprise with my beautiful sister Nikki, mum and my two gorgeous nieces Stephanie and Ellie jumping out from behind the door as I opened it. It was so great to see them.

And mum did all my washing which was fantastic...thanks Mum. Nikki had the fridge stocked with lots of healthy stuff and then it was time to hand out some presents which I just loved. Lots of kisses and hugs all round.

To sleep in my own bed was just like sleeping on a cloud. Crisp white sheets which I just melted into...wonderful.

On the way home on the plane I reflected on what I had learnt about myself and life since being away and I have been doing a lot of thinking about what the future holds and what course I want my life to take and writing poetry and a book will be part of that. This might be a little "D & M" (deep and meaningful) for some of you so you can take it or leave it.

The following are some insights that I came up with which I wanted to share with you.

MY INSIGHTS

To live a fulfilling life is what I long for to reach my full potential whatever that may be.
To help people to be the best that they can be this is what I see for me.
To inspire others to take a chance to live their lives and never be afraid to take a risk.
To live a life of sensations rather than thoughts and get out there and experience all that's on my list.
To follow my dreams and believe in myself as we are often our own worst critics...me especially.
To see the opportunities around me and never stay in the shadows of mine or someone elses dreams.
To have a passion for the possible we are all more than we pretend to be.
There is magic in the air and it is you and it is me.
To live a life uncommon and be all that I can be...this will be the path for me.
To give myself permission to shine and always ask...Why not me?
I am not tied to any place or any path and want to stay open to all the possibilities that the universe puts in front of me.

Additionally, I was introduced to some of the writings of Kahlil Gibran the prophet by a special friend just before I left on my trip and this is my favourite that I wanted to share with you as well

On love...
When love beckons to you, follow him,
though his ways are hard and steep.
And when his wings enfold you yield to him,
Though the sword hidden among his pinions may wound you.
And when he speaks to you believe in him,
Though his voice may shatter your dreams as the north wind lays waste the garden.
For even as love crowns you so shall he crucify you.
Even as he is for your growth so is he for your pruning.
Even as he ascends to your height and caresses your tenderest branches that quiver in the sun,
So shall he descend to your roots and shake them in their clinging to the earth.
Like sheaves of corn he gathers you unto himself.
He threshes you to make you naked.
He sifts you to free you from your husks.
He grinds you to whiteness.
He kneads you until you are pliant.
And then he assigns you to his sacred fire, that you may become sacred bread for God's sacred feast.

For me this is summed up by never being afraid to love and follow what is truly in your heart, it will be a journey that has good times, and there will be bad times however don't let the fear of the bad times and the possibility of being hurt stop you from taking the journey...that is how I want to live my life.

To all my special friends and family...you mean so much to me...thanks for sharing this special journey with me.

love Sim xxx



Advertisement



31st October 2006

Cuba: a dream gone down-under
Say Sim, why going all the way to Cuba where locals are tortured for wanting to introduce simple necessary changes to a repressive regime of an old bastard? So many "wonderful" pictures and memoirs, not a word painting the misery and suffering. Pittiful.
3rd November 2006

interesting comment
Clearly you didn't read my entry from Veradero where I did refer to how people felt and my thoughts on an English MP who I met in Santa Clara trying to paint only a positive picture of the country which is clearly not accurate. Most of the younger people that I spoke to did want to get out of Cuba and I certainly do feel for them. I chose to go to Cuba to experience what I could of the culture and meet the local people. Without tourism these people would not be able to survive . Whilst I don't agree with how the country is ruled ,I don't believe that is a reason to stay away. I can only talk about my experiences there and I found the people to be amazing and resilient especially given their circumstances and I think it is important to share that story as that is the one that I experienced. You are entitled to your views however I did try to provide an accurate picture of what I experienced. So maybe take a read of my Veradero entry and you will see this.
5th November 2006

Glad you are home safe
sorry it took so long to reply but we have had trouble with our internet. I love the statement you have made at the end about experiencing life and love and hope it does come true for yoy . travelling does make you reflect on life and what we want and have, I have found I see people from different countries who can't speak english differently now as I see learning a different language is not as easy as I thought. Glad you are home safe. Hope going back to Work was not too bad. Hope to hear from you again. I enjoyed your company on our trek and hope our paths cross again some day.Take care big big hug jo-anne xxxxx
6th November 2006

Hi Jo-anne
Great to hear from you. drop me an email at my bigpond address and send me your phone number. I would love to chat with you soon Sim

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0476s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb