Home Has Grown


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne
March 25th 2014
Published: May 26th 2014
Edit Blog Post

We left Shepparton after breakfast and set off on the last leg home. It’s highway all the way and Barry knows the road well so there were no problems.

We arrived home in the early afternoon and then began my worst nightmare of guiding Barry to back down the narrow driveway to the rear of the garden. It is a nerve-wracking job (thank goodness I’m not doing the driving or we’d have no house left!) and totally spoils the end of every trip. It all looked perfect, after several attempts, but then we realised that we should be closer to the house than we had ever been. Barry needs to do some repairs to the slide-out and it will have to be fully extended, without knocking down the neighbour’s side fence! By this time, I was a nervous wreck and refused to start the whole process all over again. It will have to wait until tomorrow! I mean, he’s not going to do any fixing for a few days, is he?

After all that trauma, I opened the side door of the house to start bringing things inside. As I looked through the door I couldn’t believe how big the family room was and how far away the wall seemed and I was still standing outside! I have definitely acclimatised to the smallness of the van.

What was worse, though, was my forgetting where things were in the kitchen, later, when I was preparing the meal! I’ve worked in this kitchen for more than 10 years and after only 5 weeks in the van, I’m lost!! Not sure if that’s good or bad. What will I be like after more than 6 months away?

It’s been a wonderful trip that was over too fast and I’m looking forward to the next one, but it is nice to be home.



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0218s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb