Flip flopless showering in Melbourne


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne
May 17th 2013
Published: May 17th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Started off with meeting oldies en newbies in a hostel. Which meant in my case, so many smiles and laughing about stories from Perth side, seeing a friend I've met 7 years ago in Central America through whom I have a house now. So yup, gone are the days of waiting to cook in a crowded kitchen, searching for forks, frustrations about stolen food from your cubby and flip flop showers. It all changed into having a serious job, a shared house, a daily commute and a pay check!

Before all this serious stuff, I roamed around Melbourne, I've been shown around Melbourne street art, I visited markets, I beach bummed a bit, I hopped on & off a free bus and felt pushed around by a recruitment agency. Melbourne is a nice city, which some times gives you the feeling of menopause; cold hot, hot cold, warm wet, windy dry. But honestly not as full on as some claim it is. I live in the bohemian area with a lot of cosy little cafes, markets and second hand stores. So reading a book curled up in a couch while sipping a pint of cider is definitely a good way of spending your day. They also have crazy Australian things; the hook turn, poached eggs, ugly beaches and apparently thousands of penguins. Also what I noticed is that there are more Asians here than in Perth and less Aboriginals. Don't know what you can do with this information it just dawned on me.

Work is good, I'm getting settled in now, and with that confronted with the harsh reality of Australians lack of human rights. Apparently the UN calls them out on it that their way off treating people is below poor, they shrug, that (besides the little fact that Australia is not even situated near Europe) it would never get accepted in the EU because of their inhumane (f)laws, they shrug.. I guess watching the documentary "Between the devil & the deep blue sea" gives you an idea who I work with.

"Between the devil & the deep blue sea'' is a 52-minute documentary about the human faces behind the circumstances and decisions that lead someone to become a 'boat person'. Filmed by an Australian lawyer Jessie Taylor.


It's also getting 'cold' here, big scheiss and winter is not even here yet. I know it's not as bad as the white and freezing for ever winter in Europe, but still if feel entitled to share my moaning just because I can,


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement



Tot: 0.252s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 72; dbt: 0.0999s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb