Pre-trip: Vive Le Sud D'America!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne
October 7th 2011
Published: October 7th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Route


8/10/11

Before I embark on my trip to Latin America, I have a small matter of 3 final exams to get through so this will be brief.

My interest in South America was born out of stories from friends about various sights and wonders mainly including the treks of Machu Picchu and the Galapagos Islands. After a long lost cousin from Scotland had visited a few years ago and told us of her plans to travel to see the ancient ruins, I felt compelled to reignite my own travel after an epic Euro trip in '06. Ancient civilizations have always interested me to find out where we came from, how far we have come, and what thoughts and ideas are shared and are not shared over such a long time. The Inca and Aztec empires were long powerful and successful for a reason and the legacy they left remains somewhat lost except for some evidence some of that which sits on top of the Andes in Peru. Another of the main attractions I wish to visit is the famous Galapagos Islands. Being a man of science, the discoveries of Darwin and the development of the idea of evolution is no doubt one of the most important ever made, if not the most centralising for modern day science. Obviously around these two sacred sights, is the whole Latin American community that each have their own unique cultures and peoples very different from the English speaking nations. My medical elective in the Amazon basin of Peru will no doubt be one of the highlights if not the highlight of my trip, and I look forward to meeting the indigenous people of the Amazon and the many challenges associated with improving their understanding of modern health and medicine.

So for now, it's adios.

Intended countries to visit: Argentina, Bolivia, Peru, Ecuador, Brazil.

Josh

Advertisement



19th October 2011

Good luck.
I refer to the title of my comment.

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 47; dbt: 0.036s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb